• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Someone , HELP. Is there a key logger on my phone?

I recently was using my boyfriend's computer. When I saw the search for a "free cell phone keylogger," is there a way to actually see if he has placed on on my phone?
Would an anti virus software help detect it?

I have a Samsung Galaxy S2
I'm new to all of this stuff , so please help.

:(

OP: if you're not rooted, you should be able to go into your settings and view all all your applications that are on your device. You can view what permissions each one has, and delete any that you don't trust. You can also check out the "running services" to see what's running in the background. Also, if you want to be on the safe side, you can delete all 3rd party keyboards from your phone and just use those that came with it.

Reactions: lovexXxBroken
Upvote 0
Oh yes... The "get a new boyfriend."
Lol.

& When you're running a key logger , is it actually reading from the phone its self , or the sim card? Essentially what I'm asking is if I purchase a new sim card , can he only view what's been typed from it?

1 more, I know when the phone is rooted , you can go into certain files and look at deleted text messages. Any one know exactly how?

Upvote 0
Oh yes... The "get a new boyfriend."
Lol.

& When you're running a key logger , is it actually reading from the phone its self , or the sim card? Essentially what I'm asking is if I purchase a new sim card , can he only view what's been typed from it?

1 more, I know when the phone is rooted , you can go into certain files and look at deleted text messages. Any one know exactly how?

#1. Usually the phone's memory, as to prevent taking the SD card (not SIM card) out of your phone. SIM cards control the phone's connection to the network, SD cards are memory storage cards.

2. If the messages are deleted, I do not believe that they will be logged anywhere on the phone, rooted or not.