1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Something's killing my battery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sak01, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    Can you help me work out what's killing my battery, please?

    I only have this problem when using Redux2 combined with ManU kernel. Something's keeping my phone awake and I'm down to 50% in 3 hours.

    But the thing is, I don't have any problem with Redux2 + stock Thalamus kernel or dGb + ManU. It's only when I use ManU on Redux that this happens

    I've got ScreenOn 128-1036; ScreenOff 128-384 in SetCpu but it doesn't make a difference if I'm using those profiles or not.

    Here's some data:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Running apps:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    The only time I have had a problem with an app keeping the screen on was with Titanium Backup. Have you been using that and has it done a scheduled backup recently?
     
  3. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    No, just a restore last night.

    If I can't get to bottom of this, I can always switch back to Thalamus or change Roms but I like ManU 1.4 and would really like to know what the problem is.
     
  4. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    Ok, just a thought.
     
  5. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    Thanks for the suggestion.

    I've got the active processes from Quick System Info:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Hmmm, it looks like Flikie HD was responsible for the CPU load (although it only shows 4% at the moment I snapped the pic). I've uninstalled it. Lets see if that works.
     
  6. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    Yes, hope so. Interesting, my cpu% for android.process.acore* is 100 for both of them. Not sure what that means tbh.
     
  7. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    That sounds high. Apparently, that process is tied to a number of different things so working out what is drinking all the juice is hard.

    Anyway, killing Flikie did nothing for me. Will have to continue the investigation.
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    ManU wont work properly on Redux 2. Only Redux 1.2

    This is because Redux 1.2, dGB, CM7 and ManU use the 720p Camera Drivers. Oxygen, Redux2 and _thalamus use AOSP camera drrivers
     
    Sak01 likes this.
  9. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    Sorted. It was Go launcher. Stopped it, restarted it and it is fine now

    Narrowed it down to the Gmail and Facebook notification.
     
  10. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    hi.
    glad you sorted it. I find that screen and 3g data hits mine the most.
    screen is a obvious danger area once you start rom'ing :-D
    data wise I'm trying Tasker to toggle my data on and off.

    must admit I think my battery got worse with manu. but hard to tell
    really.

    cheers
    dan
     
  11. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #132
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    To the op, i had this problem aswell, everything was fine when i went back to the stock kernel (as i see SU root has explained).
     
  12. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    Ok, thanks for the info. I was going to try the non-720p Vorks kernel but the developer seems to have taken it down. Hopefully, I've got a copy of it saved on my laptop.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...