1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Soooo Frustrated....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jeff_af_80, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. jeff_af_80

    jeff_af_80 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I have now ran KaosFroyo, EvilEris, and WhiteWidow. I have given each ample time to impress me and each has in their respective ways, but all have failed to give me one simple thing that keeps me from wanting to see what this Eris would look like in my garbage disposal, I just want the f*ck'en phone part to work. i just spent 10 minutes trying to get the phone to dial out, nothing but lag lag lag. What gives? Is there something im missing or is this just a Eris flaw i will always have despite the best of ROM's. Any input is appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. gpa111

    gpa111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    114
    3
    36
    Demon Slayer
    San Diego
    My first eris was obviously a lemon, it score a linpack of 1.2-1.5 max. My new refurb stock was 2.0 and now with root its 3.3. I really think that regardless of the rom the phone is going to have its own speed and temperment.

    I have not tried any 2.2 roms yet because I like WW so much, and I have no dialer or call lag except when hanging up. But it is loads better then before root.

    I also would suggest you try to bump your processor up to around 768 at least. I had a noticeable difference from 710 to 768. Just make sure you do not set it to set on boot when you are trying to push it and run the stress test for a few before you do.

    You could very well have a lemon though.
     
  3. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    Rooting pretty much got rid of lag for me on my Eris. If this is a constant problem for you, I might go with what gpa111 said...
    Get a new one... and since it seems to be the hot topic right now, try to get an upgrade out of Big Red
     
  4. darkside

    darkside Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    271
    30
    63
    Good Ol' Colorado
    I had the same issue with my eris running KaosFroyo, when i needed it the most it wouldn't make a phone call to save it's life which it should of because now it is dead and i'm waiting on a Moto Droid to come. Not saying that you should necessarily switch to the Moto Droid but that might be an option if you call VZW and let them know your situation.
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Your phone is obviously defective; several different ROMs, two different operating systems (2.1 and 2.2) with the same issue.

    One option is to go through the unroot regimen (RUU, etc) and then attempt an exchange at Verizon.

    If it were mine that is the option I'd choose first.

    The other options are mentioned in other posts.

    No matter what you decide to do, why keep a phone that has proven it cannot function as a basic telephone?
     
  6. MOS95B

    MOS95B Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    434
    19
    58
    Male
    Enterprise Level NAS Tech Support
    Minnesota
    Yep. I've used those same ROMs, and a couple more. No problems with my phone.

    You have defective hardware...
     
  7. DroidJW

    DroidJW Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Think I am voting lemon as well. Unroot and return to Verizon.

    Prior to root and with stock 1.5 or 2.1, my dialer also had some lag -- though yours sounds worse. I've tried several ROMs, and never had any dialer lag on Kaos. Did you have JIT enabled? What linpack scores were you achieving? A linpack number isnt the last word on performance for your phone, but its a good benchmark that might reveal an issue.

    I routinely get 4.8-4.9 on Kaos with no additional overclocking (think Kaos is OC'd to 710 by default).
     
  8. lukesdiesel

    lukesdiesel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    284
    7
    36
    Business Owner
    NC
    My phone was doing the same until I rooted to EE3.0
     
  9. bradrobster@gmail.com

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    32
    8
    16
    Raleigh, NC
    Are you using any apps that interact with your dialer? I have always had the same problem, even with root on all 3 ROM's you mention. I use a app called "Call Confirm", this app is great in preventing mis dials, re-dials, butt dials...etc. The only problem is, it interacts with the dialer and stops and asks you if you really want to call the person you have selected.
    On root, this lag seems to be much more pronounced for me. Just the other day I uninstalled it and my lag is almost completely gone. For me, I just have to weigh the value of the app against the lag, most times its ok but if your in a hurry and need to make a call, it will drive you nuts. Just a thought if you have any other app installed which may have dialer interaction of some type.
     
  10. Nickboxer7

    Nickboxer7 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    I can be flamed for this all you want, but I'd say make sure OC isn't set too high. I've had it set too high before and it actually slows my phone down b/c it's not quite stable to run at that speed for so long. Just something to think about. Higher isn't always better.
     
  11. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    Flamed? For that?

    Lol, you must have had a really bad experience here during your 9 posts.
    We're not that bad;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...