1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Sort (alphabetize) the applications

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lkdavis, May 11, 2011.

  1. lkdavis

    lkdavis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Is there a way to sort (alphabetize) the applications on the application screen page for the Verizon SG tab? There is probably a simple solution to this but I can
     

    Advertisement

  2. billskeen68

    billskeen68 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 23, 2011

    May 23, 2011
    1
    2
    6
    Nerd herder
    Austin, TX
    On my Epic, in any of the Applications screens, I select Menu, then Menu again, then a-z Sort.
     
    lkdavis and jasonacg like this.
  3. lkdavis

    lkdavis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Thank you for the reply. I can do an a-z sort on my samsung fascinate 2.2, but the samsung galaxy tab 2.2 doesn't have that option. Bummer.
     
  4. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    245
    37
    43
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Doesn't work on my Tab either, but thanks for the Epic tip! At least I was able to fix one of my devices.
     
  5. GirlGoneGeek

    GirlGoneGeek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    149
    33
    63
    St. Louis, MO
    *Bump*

    I'm having this same problem. Anyone figured out a workaround yet?

    I'm just guessing, but maybe the custom ROMs have this worked out. Anything for the rest of us though?
     
  6. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    245
    37
    43
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Nothing yet, at least not in the stock version.

    Maybe, just maybe, the upcoming release of 2.3 (which is reportedly released this coming week), will correct this "oversight."
     
  7. gadzooks

    gadzooks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    179
    20
    58
    bits & bytes
    left coast USA
    I may not understand what is meant by app screen, but on my VzW SG Tab, stock ROM, apps display in alphabetical order both in Settings (Manage Applications) and also when viewed in app drawer.

    I use LauncherPro, but I selected Samsung Home and results are the same.

    I am rooted and have used Titanium Backup to freeze some applications but I don't easily see that absence of any of those affects how applications are displaying on my device.
     
  8. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    245
    37
    43
    Tampa Bay, FL
    My Sprint Tab used to alphabetize, until I started moving apps to the SD card. After that, the device couldn't seem to keep up with organizing apps from two different locations. My Epic can do it, but not its [sort of] big brother.
     
  9. Yull

    Yull Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011

    Jul 5, 2011
    2
    6
    6
    I use AppZorter Lite for TouchWiz

    It works well for me...
     
  10. GirlGoneGeek

    GirlGoneGeek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    149
    33
    63
    St. Louis, MO
    Worked perfectly, exactly what I wanted. Thanks!
     
  11. psolord

    psolord Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Just registered to say thanks!

    Works great on Galaxy S with Android 2.3.3.
     
  12. lkdavis

    lkdavis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Thanks, that solved the problem wonderfully:)
     
  13. andandre

    andandre Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Another thanks - AppZorter made my day. Apps just open up when you can find them. Samsung Galaxy S Android 2.3.3
     
  14. AngelicCore

    AngelicCore Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    171
    7
    36
    Cairo
    Thanks a lot mate.

    Come on Samsung.
     
  15. sushilstps

    sushilstps Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    appzorter is wonderful.
    looking such app for long time.
    thanks.
     
  16. SharpElite1991

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks a lot! I needed this sort of app so bad!:D
     
  17. wrockage

    wrockage Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Appzorter worked for me on the new Samsung Galaxy Note. Also just registered to say thanks to all for recommendations.

    To chime in with another poster, C'mon Samsung! What the heck? I mean, really?
     
  18. Kinolay

    Kinolay Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Hey all, I can't get Appzorter to work on the latest ICS Galaxy Tab 10.1. Anybody have any other suggestions?. This is a horrible oversight by Samsung.. It's so hard to find the apps I want.
     
  19. The Bald Piper

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    4
    1
    6
    Another thanks - Appzorter lite worked great. It was very frustrating having apps all over the place after uninstalling via Titanium Backup.
     
  20. SarahhLouu123

    SarahhLouu123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012

    Dec 26, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Go on your menu, click on the symbol in the top right corner (with the lines and a liitle arrow) click on view type, and there should be custom or A-Z options :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...