1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Sound files on SD card, but can't set as ringtone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dawgfan76, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. dawgfan76

    dawgfan76 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    82
    0
    15
    I have used a certain file as a ringtone, but now I can't see it as a choice when using settings/sound/phone ringtone. I can see it using a file manager and it is on the SD card. Note that I can see some of the similar files as choices, but not all.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    949
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    949
    180
    103
    Male
    Home
    i put my mp3s in a "ringtones" directory and they show up there.
     
  3. dawgfan76

    dawgfan76 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    82
    0
    15
    OK. When I go to select a ringtone, the only choice is Android or Zedge, but no others.
     
  4. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,099
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,099
    415
    273
    TN
    and you looked under android, then ringtones, right? or did you look under android, mp3s?
     
  5. dawgfan76

    dawgfan76 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    82
    0
    15
    Android then ring tones
     
  6. dawgfan76

    dawgfan76 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    82
    0
    15
    Had a thought this am and I plugged the DX into my pc to look in the files. I noticed that the ringtones I was looking for were located in the music folder. Not sure how this happened, but when I moved them to the ringtone folder I could select them again. Duh, although I don't recall moving them to the music folder...
     

Share This Page

Loading...