1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Specific settings for Droid Overclock for battery life

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by darkcyber, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    I just purchased Droid Overclock and I am looking for suggestion on settings or instructions to max out battery life...that is my goal right now.

    Any help appreciated :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. escalade6103

    escalade6103 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    339
    17
    38
    aviation technician
    BFE
    Try doing a search for threads in here. All of them will tell you that every phone is different and what works on one won't necessarily work on yours. But doing the search will let you read all the precautions for overclocking and under volting. But one thing to make sure not to do is check the box to auto apply on reboot.
     
  3. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    Thanks! Well, actually I did a search before I made this post, but really didn't find anything much on Droid Overclock settings. Will give it another shot and see. I was looking for specific settings for Droid Overclock, not just overclocking in general.
     
  4. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    i would suggest also buying quick clock advance. then you can find your bare minimum vsels, your maximum speed the phone can handle, and suggested profiles. i used that and used the battery saver profile. underclocks my phone to 900 but i haven't noticed any drop off in performance. my slots are 300 Mhz: 18V, 540 Mhz:30V, 720 Mhz:38V, and 900 Mhz:48V. but every phone is different. thats why quick clock advanced is so useful. it will find the best settings for your phone. i'm also on rubix focused 2.0 using the conservative governor. 90% battery after 13 1/2 hours as of right now.
     
  5. snwboard333

    snwboard333 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    32
    0
    15
    my settings are
    350 - 17v
    600 - 28v
    900- 38v
    1320 - 58v

    Ive gotten 17hrs with my extended battery running at 1320 so im certainly happy with the app. Also set your profile so when your screen is off it stays at your lowest clock speed, definitely saves battery
     
  6. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    i've had problems with using this profile in the Droid Overclock app. it seems to get stuck in that profile for a while after you unlock the phone and causes it to be very sluggish. as long as you do not have any rogue apps, you shouldn't have a problem with the processor automatically adjusting to the minimum clock speed when the screen is off.
     
  7. snwboard333

    snwboard333 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    32
    0
    15
    yeah i personally use setCPU for that. And yeah i agree it should do it automatically but at least i know it definitely will
     
  8. escalade6103

    escalade6103 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    339
    17
    38
    aviation technician
    BFE
    sorry guess i didnt fully read your post. i was reading it at work off and on so it didnt fully register. im actually interested in finding the same answers as well. like you i did search but it was mostly just telling us about it. dont get me wrong ive learned a lil something from all of them but not what they set theirs too to get their awesome battery life.
    but also i would like to know are they using those settings all the time or swapping back and forth from performance to battery saver?
     
  9. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    So, you use quick clock to find values and then use them in Droid Overclock?
     
  10. escalade6103

    escalade6103 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    339
    17
    38
    aviation technician
    BFE
    I used quick clock but i didn't like it. I don't think it rated my phone accurately. I'm only using Droid X overclocking. It has all the settings that the other does so i just don't see running 2 apps for the same thing. I'll try to post a drocap pic of my settings this morning. I'm still playing around fine tuning but it's pretty close
     
  11. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama

    So, what do you run on Droid Overclock to get those values for your specific X?
     
  12. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    Ok, I have all 3 programs now...SetCPU, Droid Overclock, and Quick Overclock. I ran Quick Overclock and got my vsel value and max MHz, so which program should I use to setup a battery saving profile in? Anyone better than the other?

    Here is what quickoverclock shows:

    300 - 15
    600 - 30
    800 - 40
    1000 - 50

    Shows max CPU of 1406.

    So, how do I know any of these 3 are working to save battery?
     
  13. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    You want to run quickclock and use it to find max speed, vsels, and profiles. After its done and reboots, go into the overclock section of the app. Hit menu and select load profile. Select battery saver. Then select export profile. Save the file. Then go into droid overclock advanced. menu/ import settings. Select the file and apply it
     
  14. tgpoletti

    tgpoletti Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    I'm going to try running the Droid Overclock and quickclock together. I was just using Droid Overclock, but it was not listening to the profiles that I set for it. It would usually just keep my phone running at 1000 MHz unless I manually changed it regardless of temperature. I also had to set a second temperature profile even because I woke up one day (its set to underclock at 800 MHz when the screen is off) and I burned my hand on my phone and I looked at it was 131 degrees Fahrenheit. Also the app kept popping up notifications that it had obtained superuser access every time I turned my screen on. I ended up installing it because it seemed to be doing more harm than good at the time.
     
  15. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    I did not have much success with droid overclock for profiles either. It sounds like your profile was keeping it at 800 Mhz instead of letting it clock down to 300, which is usually what happens by default anyway. I use quickclock to get my speeds, vsels, and profiles then export them to droid overclock. I do this every time I switch roms. Every rom handles it differently.
     
  16. escalade6103

    escalade6103 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    339
    17
    38
    aviation technician
    BFE
  17. escalade6103

    escalade6103 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    339
    17
    38
    aviation technician
    BFE


    i might have to retract what i said about Quick Clock. after reading the above instructions i tried it again. i didnt know to press menu to be able to select different profiles. but it gives you the option for battery saver, performance, balanced, or default. i would suggest balanced. battery saver does save more battery life but you would be lacking when you wanted to play games or other things that would require more performance to run smoothly. but thats when it comes down to preference

    this is my balanced profile setting

    CAP201103132039.jpg

    CAP2011031320391.jpg
     
    mmoselle and darkcyber like this.
  18. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    I use the battery saver profile. It isn't a huge difference but the little bits add up. My highest slot is 900 Mhz and 48 vsels. I don't play games but I use widgets and I browse the internet while streaming slacker radio. Haven't had a problem with the phone being sluggish.
     
  19. escalade6103

    escalade6103 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    339
    17
    38
    aviation technician
    BFE
    i do play games to kill time and i have noticed a big difference. certain games were always pausing to catch up to itself. but with it overclocked theres no lag at all. actually makes it fun now instead of frustrating. but ive got it set up for "on demend" so its only running that high when its needs it
     
  20. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    Well then I suppose it just comes back to personal preference. I use the conservative governor. It clocks up amd down as needed also but does it in a way that is more friendly to the battery life. I think I may try my balanced profile from quick clock and see if I notice much of a change.
     
  21. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    I used quick clock and using it's settings my X froze and/or rebooted several times. I then altered the vsel 5 points up on each level and have had no problems. So one of the vsel's that quickclock gave me seemed to be too low.
     
  22. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    Not that uncommon I'm sure. As every phone is different, quick clocks 15% buffet isn't high enough for some phones. But it at least gives you a solid baseline. I would try using the servings it gives you but change the buffer to 18%. To make sure you are getting the lowest vsels possible.
     
  23. imronburgundy

    imronburgundy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    368
    24
    38
    How do you upload these to apply at boot? I've uploaded the presets into Droid Overclock, but it still shows boot as "stock". I even checked the "apply at boot" button.
     
  24. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    Ok, got all of this done and then went to Droid Overclock and selected "Advanced/Custom", then menu and "Import Presets", but the only thing that comes up is "cancel" or "update.zip". Is the update.zip file the settings that quick overclock saved or am I missing something?
     
  25. escalade6103

    escalade6103 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    339
    17
    38
    aviation technician
    BFE
    Not sure about that but i would go back and redo the profile in quick clock and when you export it rename it and try to add it to droid overclock again. I do that with most things to make sure i know what they are.
     

Share This Page

Loading...