1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Speech->Text doesn't work on keyboard, works in S Voice

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by leekaye, Jun 25, 2013.

  1. leekaye

    leekaye Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 29, 2013

    May 29, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Speech -> Text input isn't working when I hit the mic button from the keyboard. When I speak, the bars move (sometimes jumping all the way to max for the entire message), but no text comes up.

    Odd thing is, if I use S Voice and speak a command, it understands and works great. But I use Google Voice for most of my texting and typing in directions to Waze so I need the keyboard mic.

    Settings for Language & Input are:

    - Swype keyboard default (it was working before with Swype)
    - English default language
    - Google Text-> Speech Output voice recognition

    This is driving me insane!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,570
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,570
    22,008
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Welcome leekaye!
    You said it worked with Swype before....before what though?
    Does it work with other keyboards?

    Is the "voice recognizer" set to google also? (menu/settings/language and input/voice recogizer.)<<----don't know if you have that as a stock option. :)
     
  3. leekaye

    leekaye Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 29, 2013

    May 29, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    I don't recall installing or changing anything in the days before it stopped working.

    In Language & Input, I have Voice Search in the menu (no Voice Recognizer). Don't see any settings for Google input there. I've scoured the menu settings and the only place I saw for Google TTS option is under Text -> Speech. That's already set to Google.

    Using Jelly Bean 4.1.2
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,570
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,570
    22,008
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Does it work on other keyboards?
    Try it on a different keyboard before the next suggestion.

    What you could try to do is going into the Swype keyboard app, (manage applications/all/Swype) and clear data and cache then try it again.
    You might lose your keyboard settings when you do that, but worth a try. :rolleyes:

    I don't use Swype, so I can't comment on that keyboard. ;)
     
  5. leekaye

    leekaye Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 29, 2013

    May 29, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Doesn't work on any keyboard.

    Tried clearing cache...still nothing.

    Any other suggestions?

    TIA
     
  6. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,570
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,570
    22,008
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    hmmmm, I'm grasping at straws now...:thinking:
    I'll just list some of my settings:
    Is Talkback off?-- Under "accessibility " settings
    Is Driving Mode off?--under accessibility/text-to-speech
     
  7. pqtalk

    pqtalk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013

    Jun 29, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    This same issue just started for me yesterday. I have not installed anything new. Does anyone any more info?
     
  8. lordmage

    lordmage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011

    Nov 4, 2011
    270
    96
    53
    i share in this problem all i can think of is that it is a touchwiz issue
     

Share This Page

Loading...