1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Speech to Text: "connection to server" problem???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by garybeck, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. garybeck

    garybeck Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    305
    17
    38
    I am using the speech to text function more lately, as I find the tiny keyboard is driving me NUTS.

    Sometimes I get an error, something like "problem connecting to server" when I speak.

    What is that all about ? Why is there a server involved? Is the speech recognition software stored locally on my device or is it somewhere in the "cloud" ?

    anyone else get these errors? or know why there are references to the "server?"
     

    Advertisement

  2. garybeck

    garybeck Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    305
    17
    38
    just in case anyone is wondering, I found the answer on another forum. evidently the speech-to-text function takes place on google's servers and requires an internet connection (3G or wifi). seems strange but that's what they said.
     
  3. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    Flext9 key board uses built in dragon speak but does cost $5
     
  4. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    I thought so to when I first got it, but I have never been able to get the FlexT9 keyboard's Dragon Speak to work without an internet connection. Always says dictation failed. Does it work for you?
     
  5. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    I've never tried it without a connection present just tried it in airplane mode. That's odd. The info says it should work.
     
  6. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    I thought it said that too, guess it was a copy-writer's mistake.
     
  7. wargalley20011

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I also find if my phone stays on too long without activity. I get the "problem connecting to server" on internet based items. I need to turn phone off then on again to get things working.
     
  8. intermental

    intermental Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    i get this problem.. but only when my messages end up being longer than a simple sentence... maybe its actually a processing time out?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...