1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Speedometer app using GPS: does it use data?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by dlee1001, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. dlee1001

    dlee1001 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    118
    7
    36
    I downloaded a speedometer app from the Android market. The app requires that the GPS on my phone be turned on. But I got a bit worried about whether the app would use data when I'm not on Wi-fi. I got assurance that the GPS itself doesn't use data, but that apps that use GPS can. Do speedometer apps use data with GPS turned on?
     

    Advertisement

  2. vosg

    vosg Android Expert
    Rank:
     #103
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,234
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,234
    360
    203
    Male
    Software Developer (retired)
    Antwerp, BE
    Speedometer apps don't need data, just GPS. I suggest you look at the app's permissions to make sure.
     
    dlee1001 likes this.
  3. dlee1001

    dlee1001 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    118
    7
    36
    I checked the app's permissions and it said:

    1. Your location--coarse (network-based) location, fine (GPS) location
    2. Network communication--full Internet access
    3. Phone calls--read phone state
    4. System tools--prevent phone from sleeping
     
  4. RyanB

    RyanB Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Given that it requires internet access, it very well may be using data. It might be just to pull down ads (assuming it's an ad supported app), but at the end of the day, data is data.
     
  5. Gorf123

    Gorf123 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011

    Apr 17, 2011
    23
    4
    36
    I've noticed a few of these apps that need access to phone data, internet, camera etc when it's not immediately apparent why. Is it safe to assume that the developer just wrote it and left the default access requests rather than thinking about which ones are utilised?
     
  6. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    Depends on the specific app. There's no need for data to calculate your speed but that doesn't mean that all speedo apps don't use data. You can't make assumptions like in the OP. Broad, sweeping generalizations are of limited use.
     

Share This Page

Loading...