1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Split Screen on s3?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by funkylogik, Dec 9, 2012.

  1. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Several people are correct. See my post before yours
     

    Advertisement

  2. Sudeepvv

    Sudeepvv Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Hi,

    When I got the Jelly bean update, I had the split screen option. But after some time it got turned off and I couldn't find any settings to turn it back on. Please could you help me on this?

    - Sudeep
     
  3. heat57

    heat57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    731
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    731
    311
    113
    Consultant
    Birmingham, UK
    Let me qualify my answer first, I am on a custom ROM, however, it is based on Samsung Stock so I would imagine the basic functions for most of the system are the same, including 'multi-window' or split screen. First I had to enable 'multi-window' in Settings > Display > General > tick Multi window. After this, when you long-press the return button (right-side of the home button) multi window will startup. Be patient as it can take anything up to 10 secs. You will notice a rounded tab in the centre left of your screen protruding from the edge. Just pull this to the right and the enabled apps you can use are shown in a 1cm wide strip. If not used it will return to the edge of screen. If you want to completely close multi window just long-press the return button again. After it has been initialised it will reopen much quicker.
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Its a back button ;)
     
  5. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Back/return... i love u SU :)
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Menu | Home | Back
     
  7. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Maybe not if youre Arabic (back, home, menu/options)
     
  8. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    ....and can it REALLY be classed as a button? :p
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Well its a capacitive "button" hehe
     
  10. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Id call it a "touch area" :)
     
  11. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    (Giggidy)
    Oh and its also the Google Now "button" :p
     
  12. phlojo

    phlojo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010

    Jul 12, 2010
    105
    5
    36
    IT
    Romania
    I do like the split screen, but it is annoying that most apps are not available for this feature. E.g. ColorNote works but not AK Notepad. :thinking:
     
  13. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Dont quote me but i think Neat Rom allows any app mate......
     
  14. silentwitness

    silentwitness Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,095
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,095
    319
    173
    Male
    Bombay India
    there are patches available that let u use any app on multiwindow but you would need to be rooted for it.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  15. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Still havent tried best face yet mate n cant remember what thread i asked u what it does in lol........
     

Share This Page

Loading...