1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sprint 2.1 getting very close

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bostonshaker, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. bostonshaker

    bostonshaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    27
    14
    18
    Student
    Woodland, WA

    Advertisement

  2. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009

    Oct 3, 2009
    365
    37
    43
    Civil Engineer
    Aurora, IL
  3. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    624
    47
    68
    Martial Arts Instructor
    Michigan - Metro Detroit
    What is the best app in the market to back up our current downloaded apps?
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    titanium backup, assuming you're rooted.
     
  5. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    624
    47
    68
    Martial Arts Instructor
    Michigan - Metro Detroit



    I'm not :-/
     
  6. V425

    V425 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    347
    22
    38
    Maryland
    I'm not rooted and use Astro (great backup/file manager combo)
     
  7. momoceio

    momoceio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    1,235
    149
    163
    Sr. Systems Administrator
    St. Louis
    I use AppsMonster...dumps all your .apk files to SD then you can go back an install later.
     
  8. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    624
    47
    68
    Martial Arts Instructor
    Michigan - Metro Detroit
    Thanks guys :D

    All work for for an UN-ROOTED phone, right?
     
  9. momoceio

    momoceio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    1,235
    149
    163
    Sr. Systems Administrator
    St. Louis
  10. lldsandsll

    lldsandsll Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    174
    1
    36
    that's pretty hot. good tip
     
  11. NCHornet

    NCHornet Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    127
    8
    36
    When 2.1 is finally released what will we have to do to get it? Will it be all automatic or will it require us to stand on our head and chew gum or something?
    Just curious as to what I should be looking for.

    NCH
     
  12. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    I believe it's going to be a web download. You'll have to go to the sprint website and download a program that will put it on your phone (or you can just root and use a custom 2.1 :p)
     
  13. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    737
    65
    78
    New York
    It would appear and has been rumored to be a OTW (on the wire) update. So yeah, there might be some line standing going on.

    I for one have not rooted and will not RUSH to get the update. I have also read there is concern that the update may remove rooting ability. Let's just say I would like to keep all options open, as most surely, once the update it out, Dev's will be chipping away to root it as well and even improve it as they have always done. So I will wait a week or so, see what improvements, problems might arise from the update. Ultimately, I am happy with my Hero as it is now, so no rush is needed on my part.

    Good link OP and certainly for the FIRST time, I will allow myself to think it is near... ;) lol... MAny people will be sooooooo happy :)

    :cool:
     
  14. JD_from_da_80s

    JD_from_da_80s Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    203
    38
    63
    40
    Oh gawd, not another 2.1 thre...oh wait, this is actually a good tip, got me feeling tingly all over.
     
  15. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    737
    65
    78
    New York

    Hahahaha, exactly the way I felt... ;) It was so refreshing to actually read something new! :D
     
  16. bostonshaker

    bostonshaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    27
    14
    18
    Student
    Woodland, WA
    I really thought about not posting it for that very reason (another 2.1 thread). But this is the first really solid info that says it is close. I know Sprint is very secretive and it was a real mess in the PPCGeeks forums with all the speculation and false rumors about the Touch Pro 2 ROM update.

    Hope this holds. I have heard as early as Monday or possibly later in the week.

    Darn rumors anyway!
     
  17. thefley

    thefley Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #342
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    346
    26
    63
    Oklahoma
    good site and a better moderated forum
     
  18. bostonshaker

    bostonshaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    27
    14
    18
    Student
    Woodland, WA
    I did have a Samsung Moment for a couple of weeks and I was in that forum and there was a douchebag who love to flame people and his excuse was he had wrote a faq and a great reputation. He was somewhat helpful, but it is no excuse to be rude. I am glad to be out of there. I was not happy at all with the Moment anyway.

    Coming from the Touch Pro 2 I really wanted the keyboard, but the phone was a complete letdown. Battery life sucked and the keyboard was hard to use compared to my TP2. I love Android and my wife just got her Hero a couple days ago and she loves it.

    So far this subforum has been great!
     
  19. jgert2005

    jgert2005 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    22
    1
    36
    This is a great forum.
     
  20. oldjackbob

    oldjackbob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    67
    12
    18
    Excellent post! I wholeheartedly agree.
     
  21. Linx

    Linx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    151
    7
    36
    To update, couldn't you just go to menu>settings>about phone>system updates>firmware update? Will this work?
     
  22. bostonshaker

    bostonshaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    27
    14
    18
    Student
    Woodland, WA

    I am not sure that will work. I had 2.1 on my Moment with 2.1 came the ability to update Android right under "firmware update". It will more than likely be an installer much like RUU.

    The fact that Best Buy is training their staff, I am assuming they are planning to help their customers with this.
     
  23. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    I'm pretty sure you are correct Boston. Logically, there's no way for it to work otherwise (at least in my head)
     
  24. tailsthecat

    tailsthecat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    171
    2
    56
    Hopefully i can download it from the sprint or htc site and install it myself...
     
  25. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    I was thinking this myself, but then realized that if I take it to Sprint/BestBuy and THEY mess it up... I'll raise hell until I get a NEW phone.

    Is it something I can do myself, yes. Is it "safer" to let someone authorized do it, yes.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...