1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Sprint/Cricket] ONE CLICK ROOT...USB Debugging issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by YourNameHere, Dec 19, 2013.

  1. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    28
    1
    16
    I am trying to use "One Click Root" to root my S3 (4.3).
    It gets about 2/3 done and tells me to turn on USB debugging. but it IS ON.
    I don't get it. Am I missing something stupid somewhere?
    I turned on developer options, and USB debugging is checked as well. I even tried unchecking it and trying. I also tried shutting off the developer options. Nothing works.
    Why? LOL I suck at the phoning :smokingsomb:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,897
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Try using Kingo to root it (if you're not paranoid). I've heard that it works on 4.3 with Knox.
     
  3. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    28
    1
    16
    Why if I'm not paranoid? Is Kingo notorius for issues?
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    There has been some talk about how Kingo uses your phone info for less than nefarious reasons.
    I haven't really read into it much, and I don't know how it would work on the S3.
    PSA: Kingo Root and Vroot Malicious

    Some folks have used it with no issues, some folks are leery of it.
    I can neither say yay or nay, I'm just informing you of what I have seen so far.

    @Rukbat, does this indeed work on the S3 with 4.3?
     
  5. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    28
    1
    16
    i just tried Kingo 3 times. My phone just keeps restarting when Kingo tells me "waiting for device"
     
  6. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    28
    1
    16
    I tried One Click, Super Click (got stuck on second notification every time), and now Kingo. What am I doing wrong?
     
  7. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Is the only issue you have with One Click, is the usb debugging issue?

    What carrier are you with? The reason I ask, is I can move this into the forum where others with your device and carrier can more readily see it and help out:)
     
  8. OrangeJuice

    OrangeJuice Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    21
    8
    16
    Probably not possible to root it with existing methods. One click, at least, was tested with 4.1.2 on s3 i think. Wait until someone confirms that they've rooted an s3 on 4.3, otherwise you'll probably be banging your head against the wall
     
    javamann likes this.
  9. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    28
    1
    16
    i "successfully" did it....i think.
    Ok, so I found the Super SU app on my phone. Click it, and I get a security message, and Super SU immediately closes. Tried it a couple more times and then I get "unfortunately, super su has stopped".

    Restarted the phone, and now the Super SU icon/app is missing? wtf? lol. It's not even listed in the application manager
     
  10. dmcjr22

    dmcjr22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    818
    309
    113
    Syracuse Ny
    try downloading super su from store. you will have to update it within the super su app itself and then reboot into recovery for it to properly update it. i had to do that for myself just other day when i installed a custom rom

    use the one made by chainfire
     
  11. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    28
    1
    16
    BINGO...All set and rooted peeps!!!

    now, what should I do first? Any tips? I tried the trev wifi tether but it doesnt work either lol
     
  12. dmcjr22

    dmcjr22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    818
    309
    113
    Syracuse Ny
    nice good to hear how did you do it? First thing stop what your doing and make a BACKUP and store a copy of that backup on your pc
     
  13. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    Also back up your EFS folder with HC-k Tool and store that on your PC as well.
     
  14. OrangeJuice

    OrangeJuice Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    21
    8
    16

    this, please
     
  15. borjis

    borjis Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    120
    32
    43
    yes please share the procedure.

    and you were on fully stock 4.3 with knox? What carrier are you on?
     
  16. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    28
    1
    16
    im on Sprint. I just plugged it into the Laptop, turned on Kingo and didnt touch anything. Took about 30 minutes but it works!

    What is EFS folder? I assume HC-k Tool is an app?
    Whats the best app for backing up the phone?
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  17. dmcjr22

    dmcjr22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    818
    309
    113
    Syracuse Ny
    funkylogik likes this.
  18. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    28
    1
    16
    EFS won't open. LOL
    Go figure. It freezes before the window even opens...every time.
     
  19. OrangeJuice

    OrangeJuice Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    21
    8
    16
    thanks for the word-up. potentially nefarious.

    if anyone roots s3 4.3 with another method, let a dude know
     
  20. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Well done guys :beer:
    I wana second that you should definately back up EFS. i think K-tool only works for the international i9300 s3 though.
    EFS contains your IMEI (phone's identity) so if you lose and cant recover it, your phone will only be useful as a wifi device
     
    dmcjr22 likes this.
  21. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Moved to the Sprint root subforum:)
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  22. dmcjr22

    dmcjr22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    818
    309
    113
    Syracuse Ny

    Funky sir i did not learn about this until after i rooted and i am wondering if i can still do this even though i am running a custom rom. Does it matter that currently no service because waiting to flash service, meaning if when i flash service will the efs be affected and therefor should i back it up after i am flashed?
     
  23. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    28
    1
    16
    Any idea why the EFS freezes before starting?
    Can I just use Titanium Backup? "Backup all user apps + system data" Will that accomplish the same? Then just load it onto my PC? Sorry guys this is all new to me. I read alot but not good with this stuff at all.
     
  24. YourNameHere

    YourNameHere Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    28
    1
    16
    Can I use the titanium backup to achieve the same goal of backing up the phone and EFS?
     

Share This Page

Loading...