1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sprint Hotspot Feature with 2.2 ?'s

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JMac202, Jul 31, 2010.

  1. JMac202

    JMac202 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    496
    150
    68
    So I never tested it on 2.1. I opened it up but never more than that. Well started messing with it last night after I did the 2.2 upgrade that was later pulled. Well it works and I never had the hotspot feature added to my account.

    I read that there is possible a "30 Day Trial" with can anyone confirm that? Was it 30 days from when you got the phone or from the first time you use the hotspot? I've had the phone since launch day.

    Could this be a glitch and why they pulled it since it's working without having the "SOC" code on my account? Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jtemple42000

    jtemple42000 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    47
    6
    16
    Mine doesn't work. Gives me a "error code 67. Registration failure. Your username and/or password may be incorrect. Please try again."

    It does create a hotspot/network that my other computers see, but it only has local access, no internet.
     
  3. andrewcgrimm

    andrewcgrimm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009

    Oct 3, 2009
    64
    0
    35
    T3 Tech Support For A Major Wireless Carrier
    Tulsa, OK
    Mine works as well. I don't have the hotspot soc on my account. I tried using it in all the rooted 2.1 roms on xda and got the registration error 67. After flashing the first rooted 2.2 rooted Rom over there, I tried the built-in hotspot app an it worked to provide internet to my laptop and the wifes blackberry
     
  4. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    912
    206
    113
    **subscribes**
     
  5. ep3n3wp

    ep3n3wp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    I'm still on 2.1 and my hotspot works...but only when connected to 4g....i called sprint and asked and said that there is nothing on my account saying that I am in a trial period our being billed monthly

    Sorry if this was off topic since I have 2.1... Goin to 2.2 tonight
     
  6. beluga

    beluga Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    11
    0
    15

    To have hotspot on 4G, there is another $30 charge for that.
     
  7. jcthorne

    jcthorne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    137
    18
    38
    Houston
    Where is the hot spot app and what is it called? I see nothing in the apps list called hotspot or wifi.

    Nevermind, I found it in settings and turned it on. I get the error code 67 as well. Must be checking for hotspot on the account.
     
  8. cooper1010

    cooper1010 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    504
    176
    93
    it's called "sprint hotspot" in the apps list, too.

    i also get 67, but was able to connect to my laptop anyway, just no internet.

    looks like it's pdanet for me.
     
  9. S00NR1

    S00NR1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    66
    2
    16
    Assistant Golf Professional
    Norman, OK
    No go for me as well.
     
  10. jamesdean

    jamesdean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    633
    80
    78
    Same here, error 67. PDAnet for me also.
     
  11. skunkd

    skunkd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    77
    7
    16
    no go here either, error 67 i can't wait for root to come out for 2.2 so i can have my wireless tether back
     
  12. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    432
    103
    68
    Workin at the squeaky mart.
    Residin in Florida
    Same here doesn't work. But I have a problem with it now, the hotspot icon in the notification bar will not go away. Even if I force close the app. So many little things making this user experience annoying.

    Edit: I fixed it.
     
  13. cooper1010

    cooper1010 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    504
    176
    93
    did you uncheck sprint mobile hotspot?
     
  14. meyerweb

    meyerweb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    437
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    437
    110
    68
    There ain't no such thing as a free lunch.

    IOW, Sprint has said all along the hotspot feature would cost $30 a month. The fact that it was free for a while was a nice bonus, but no one should have expected it to last.
     
  15. jcthorne

    jcthorne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    137
    18
    38
    Houston
    Is there anyway to enable a hotspot function using pdanet to get the data?
     
  16. legacy

    legacy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    564
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    564
    99
    78
    Systems Administrator
    Aurora, CO
    It's out. And my wireless tethering is working.

    I'm using the Stock (rooted) 2.2, netarchy-toastmod kernel, and the 2.0.5 pre 4 wireless tethering.

    But I currently only have a 3MP camera. :eek: Not a huge deal since I don't use it a lot, and the h264 codec being used in 2.2 makes everything look nicer.
     
  17. wubbie075

    wubbie075 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    359
    40
    43
    I must be missing something, but what do you mean it connects but there's no internet??
     
  18. jamesdean

    jamesdean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    633
    80
    78
    I tried and it failed. Apparently it disables the normal access to 3G or wifi unless you are subscribed to the service.
     
  19. jamesdean

    jamesdean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    633
    80
    78
    That's the way I see. The hot spot is active but unless you subscribe there is no Internet access.
     
  20. gringojason

    gringojason Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I just got my EVO a few days ago and, after reading this thread turned on Hotspot. Works perfectly and I am not paying for anything. I tried the connection and...internets galore!!
     
  21. jamesdean

    jamesdean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    633
    80
    78
    This thread is about 2.2 with the hot spot. Do you have 2.2?
     
  22. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    912
    206
    113
    Lots of 3MP cameras look better than the Evo's 8MP.
     
  23. lolbug

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    143
    9
    36
    So my phone is now over 1 month old. Ever since I had it, the 4G hotspot tether was enabled. The 3G doesn't work but 4G works, faster than my wireless at home lol.

    Now I'm sure I didn't ask for it when I activated my phone. I even checked my statements several times and there isn't a $30 charge for it. I thought it was free for 1 month as I've read on other forums, but its PAST one month now and I still have it.

    Things to note. I'm still on 2.1 and never did any software updates, in anticipation for a rooted 2.2 to come out, so I can freely tether...how ironic..

    There isn't much discussion about this. So for those of you who aren't rooted and didn't pay for the hotspot, did/do you have 4G hotspot on your phone? If so, where u charged? If you upgrade from 2.1 to 2.2, did it disappear?

    To see if it works, first turn on 4G, then turn on hotspot. If it doesn't give you an error message, it should be working. To check, tether something to the connection. I don't know whats up but if I keep not getting charged, obviously I'm staying silent.
     
  24. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    I believe tethering via 4G and wifi have always been free.
     
  25. lolbug

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    143
    9
    36
    I know connecting to wifi source is free. But free 4G tether? I highly doubt it. Because some ppl can't do it on stock rom. If 4G tether was free, then what would be the point in rooting?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...