1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Sprint] Hotspot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jaburns180, Feb 10, 2014.

  1. jaburns180

    jaburns180 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    37
    0
    15
    Bella Roma pizza
    east tennessee
    I have sprint service I rooted my phone I tried to use mobile hotspot and it has a pop up that says im not subscribed to hotspot service do I want to subscribe then it gives two options exit or ok when you hit exit it turns the hotspot off when you hit ok it takes you to sprint to subscribe am I doing something wrong I thought when you root hotspot was free
     

    Advertisement

  2. SiempreTuna

    SiempreTuna Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    3,892
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    3,892
    1,053
    423
    Sounds like Sprint are blocking this functionality, I'm guessing because they sell it as an add-on for your plan. Try contacting Sprint for more information.

    In order to get around this, I would guess you will need to use alternative hotspot software or maybe get a ROM with the vanilla version.
     
  3. meanmini1

    meanmini1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010

    Feb 27, 2010
    160
    19
    58
    Male
    Blue Collar, yo
    Central Cali
    Yeah, sorry, but just because you rooted ur phone doesn't mean u automatically get hotspot unlocked. you need to download a hotspot .zip through recovery or download a rom that has it built in. just go to xda developers and search for hotspot mods for your model and android version. galaxynote2root.com is a good place that lists all of the roms for our phone. if u subscribe, dude will send u an email with the newest roms that have come out. he even has videos on how to download roms and other stuff.
     
  4. ComputerGranny

    ComputerGranny Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    86
    6
    16
    Female
    Retired
    Everywhere in continental U.S.
    Are you using FoxFi or the phones tethering capability? FoxFi gets around the Verizon block for me.
     
  5. meanmini1

    meanmini1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010

    Feb 27, 2010
    160
    19
    58
    Male
    Blue Collar, yo
    Central Cali
    TrevEmod's wifi tether works real good. I've used that app for different phones. I should have mentioned the alternatives.:D
     
    -Mike- likes this.
  6. -Mike-

    -Mike- Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    370
    191
    68
    Male
    Baltimore
    +1 on the TreveMod. Works like a friggin charm on all devices.
     

Share This Page

Loading...