1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sprint HTC Hero Rooting Questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CJBojangles, Mar 28, 2011.

1. CJBojangles

CJBojangles Lurker
    None

Mar 12, 2011
    First I have to explain that I know little to nothing about the inner workings of the Android platform. I don't know any coding terminology and am a complete noob in regards to programming. With that out of the way... :)

I'm looking to root my Sprint HTC Hero to remove the bloatware (NFL, NASCAR, etc.) that came with the phone to give me a little more disc space, and hopefully a speedier experience. A friend of mine suggested I use an app called "SuperOneClickRoot", then install an app called "Titanium Backup" to remove the bloatware. Is SuperOneClickRoot a reliable program to use, and is there a set of instructions that don't involve several abbreviations and programming terminology? Or is there a simpler method I should use to root my device?

Also a question pertaining to my Sprint contract. I'm eligible for an upgrade this fall. Will rooting my phone in any way affect my eligibility to upgrade to a new phone?

Thank you so much for your help. It's greatly appreciated!

- CJ

Miscellaneous phone info:
    Firmware version: 2.1-update1
    Build number: 2.32.651.2

Advertisement

2. Xyro

Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42

Dec 1, 2009
    UK
    Thread moved to the HTC Hero (Sprint) rooting section.

3. rb312102

rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    None

Nov 21, 2009
    There are many options for you. Here is a link to a thread where there are multiple links to rooting.
    http://androidforums.com/sprint-her...-want-re-root-using-unrevoked-method-but.html

Read up and choose the one that you think will be easiest. Most are just one click methods. But read for yourself so you understand what you are doing. If you download an .apk you can install it from an app like astro or es file explorer you can get on the market.