1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Sprint LTE speeds vs ATT LTE speeds

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Evil.Bonsai, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. Evil.Bonsai

    Evil.Bonsai Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    379
    40
    43
    tech stuff
    Austin, TX
    Anyone with Sprint and Note II, can you post your LTE speeds? I have a Note LTE on ATT, with speeds 19K-23K kpbs download, 9K-11K upload, but I just dropped and cracked the screen a few days ago. Looking to move to Sprint and Note II and am trying to find out how the two companies LTE speeds compare. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Lennatron

    Lennatron Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    451
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    451
    98
    73
    Male
    College Student
    PA
    I would if Sprint had 4G in my area.....Grrr
     
  3. Evil.Bonsai

    Evil.Bonsai Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    379
    40
    43
    tech stuff
    Austin, TX
    Guess I could put Austin, TX for location. I'll probably head over to a Sprint store later this week, but wanted to see what type of speeds Sprint LTE has.
     
  4. greenghost2212

    greenghost2212 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    282
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    282
    43
    43
    Yeah bro the fastest I've seen is 32mb. Att has the fastest lte but sprint lte is more reliable in terms of building penetration. And In Chicago sprint already has more lte than vzw and att
     
  5. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    :thinking:

    Signal building penetration is dependant on a few different factors...mainly one's distance from the their nearest tower, and also the frequency. Given that tower distance is relative, I doubt that Sprint's 1900MHz band will penetrate beter than at&t's 700MHz...nor will Sprint's 800MHz when deployed.

    FWIW, I was able to achieve 52Mb down on a speed test near RFK stasium in DC, on at&t. The few people I know who have Sprint LTE phones all complain about poor reception throughout the Balt./DC corridor.
     
  6. greenghost2212

    greenghost2212 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    282
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    282
    43
    43
    Tmk the lower the frequency the higher speeds but building penetration takes a hit. My grandfather has att and my cousin has vzw and while both their phones was faster in my home their lte was bouncing around ALOT more than my lte. I even have lte in my basement while they don't lol.
     
  7. greenghost2212

    greenghost2212 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    282
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    282
    43
    43
    And I avg around 30mb also
     
  8. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Higher frequencies are more affected by solid objects than lower frequencies.
     
  9. SLRdude

    SLRdude Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012

    Dec 24, 2012
    49
    37
    23
    Male
    Sr. Manager
    DFW
    I average around 35 mbps down and 15 mbps up with around a 40 ms ping on AT&T.

    The fastest I have gotten was 59 mbps down.

    My friend as Sprint LTE and his ping averages around 150 ms with downloads around 1 to 6 mbps.

    Dallas area.
     
  10. Evil.Bonsai

    Evil.Bonsai Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    379
    40
    43
    tech stuff
    Austin, TX
    Thanks for the replies. This is making me sadder and sadder. Was planning on switching to Sprint w/contract from ATT/no contract. Now not so sure.
     
  11. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,459
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,459
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC

    Why switch from no Contract to having a Contract?
     
  12. Evil.Bonsai

    Evil.Bonsai Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    379
    40
    43
    tech stuff
    Austin, TX
    Because I don't have $700 to buy a new phone w/o one.
     
  13. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    FWIW, with T-Mo, you could get a "no contract" Value plan (lower monthly rate), pay $200 up front for the pgone, and make monthly payments added to the service bill. Once the phone is paid off, your bill goes back to regular rate. This with "trottle-less unlimited data".
     
  14. Veritas4420

    Veritas4420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    642
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    642
    84
    78
    Male
    Garmin Tech support
    Kansas
    [​IMG][​IMG]I have a co-worker with Sprint and her LTE is never even half of what mine is on AT&T, and we are 10 miles away from sprints headquarters.
     
  15. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,459
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,459
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    But then you'd be paying a bill for both at&t and Sprint? There's no logic in that!

    Did you not have insurance?

    Did you try the route of adding a line to your at&t account for only $10, but not activating the line and just using the addition of another line to get the phone you want for a very low price? The line would just be a phantom number that you wouldn't use, but would cost you an additional $10 every month. Pop your sim card from your current number in the new phone and your good to go.
     
  16. ScandaLeX

    ScandaLeX Wasn't Me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,829
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    3,829
    966
    223
    Female
    PhiLLy
    Sprint LTE for me is just a pipe dream for now. :(
     
  17. greenghost2212

    greenghost2212 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    282
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    282
    43
    43
    Well my 30mb DL sprint lte speeds do me just fine lol
     
  18. ScandaLeX

    ScandaLeX Wasn't Me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,829
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    3,829
    966
    223
    Female
    PhiLLy
    Lucky you.
    No LTE where I live yet.
     
  19. acura9927

    acura9927 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012

    Dec 1, 2012
    40
    2
    16
    Seattle
    No kidding, I lost faith in them. Maybe it just a scam with Sprint.
     
  20. greenghost2212

    greenghost2212 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    282
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    282
    43
    43
    U just need to have a lil more patients lol
     
  21. maverick96

    maverick96 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    183
    19
    38
    CHICAGO
    How do you figure Sprint has more LTE in Chicago than AT&T and Verizon? That's some bad info.
     
  22. greenghost2212

    greenghost2212 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    282
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    282
    43
    43
    Bro IM IN CHICAGO LOL. And include the fact that I had all three and I didn't say vzw I said att which it is.
     
  23. greenghost2212

    greenghost2212 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    282
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    282
    43
    43
    Matter fact I know for a fact that when sprint launched lte here it was the most completed launch than att AND vzw. As in when it launched for the diff carriers it covered more square miles
     
  24. maverick96

    maverick96 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    183
    19
    38
    CHICAGO
    Bro, I'm in Chicago too. Maybe you should re-read your post. You did include VZW. Sprint sucks here bro. Just sayin' Nothing but dropped calls. VZW is Verizon.
     
  25. dwagner88

    dwagner88 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    71
    14
    18
    I've never seen over 25 megs on Verizon lte. That said I can count on one hand the number of times I've lost a 4G signal. I live in a Verizon heavy area. No idea how people are pulling 40 megs over lte unless you are the only one on the tower.
     

Share This Page

Loading...