1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sprint Nav Constantly Rearing Its Head

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CitizenD, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. CitizenD

    CitizenD Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    53
    0
    15
    I know a number of us have had problems with Messaging draining the phone's resources, but how about Sprint Navigation? I kid you not, I have killed that app three times in the last hour. It's not a widget on one of my screens, nor have I even used it once. I'm opening the app now to see if there's something I can fix, but I'm curious if anyone else has this happen frequently, too.
     

    Advertisement

  2. wirelessness

    wirelessness Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    11
    0
    15
  3. crake001

    crake001 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    All the time, I would just remove it, but i like the app besides the fact it runs for no apparent reason.
     
  4. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009

    Sep 7, 2009
    341
    0
    35
    Crossing my fingers that this is one of the things that will be fixed from the upcoming MR.
     
  5. zombdroid

    zombdroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    628
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    628
    97
    78
    Search for Brains
    Raccoon City
    Never happened to me either. I am courious if you have installed a program that may use the GPS and keeps calling the application. Does it do it after you do a soft reset and before you actually use Sprint Nav?

    Have you tried a hard reset?
     
  6. CitizenD

    CitizenD Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    53
    0
    15
    It always does it after a soft reset. I did a hard reset a few days ago when my screen started wigging out, which I attributed to not using the charger the phone came with. Not sure if I have a program that accesses GPS, but I'll go through and check. I love using Sprint Nav, I just don't like when it eats up my phone's processing and battery powers, which seems to be par for the course with this thing right now.
     
  7. CitizenD

    CitizenD Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    53
    0
    15
    I do have a number of apps that can access GPS, but I haven't noticed any that I open on a consistent basis that would start it up. I just disabled GPS in the settings to see if that helps. Perhaps that was a no-brainer.

    However, I also noticed that Voice Dialer and something titled com.coremobility.app.vnotes also start up without me opening them.
     
  8. bobeink

    bobeink Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    42
    0
    15
    did the update fix this issue? anyone?
     
  9. mindctrl

    mindctrl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    I have this issue too with Sprint Nav constantly opening itself for no apparent reason. I just installed the update and will have to test it.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...