1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sprint nav on 2.1 roms?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LxMxFxD, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. LxMxFxD

    LxMxFxD Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    256
    42
    43
    Doesn't seem to be included in damageless or fresh 2.0b. Am I missing something? I really need navigation, like fer serious. Is there some way to install it on 2.1 or must I return to 1.5? :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. momoceio

    momoceio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    1,235
    149
    163
    Sr. Systems Administrator
    St. Louis
    Google Navigation?
     
  3. LxMxFxD

    LxMxFxD Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    256
    42
    43
    What is that? I just did a search of the market for "google navigation" and came up with nothin.
     
  4. LxMxFxD

    LxMxFxD Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    256
    42
    43
    okay just part of google maps 4.0. Just installed it. Not good enough. Doesn't find my location even.

    Is there anyway to get sprint nav in 2.1?
     
  5. xxwckdxx

    xxwckdxx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    64
    0
    35
    San Pablo, Ca
    just use a apk of sprint nav from 1.5 works fine.....thats what i was using
     
  6. doneve141

    doneve141 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    112
    7
    36
    Oklahoma
    Check to see if your gps in on. It does make a difference with google maps. Off it put me 15 miles away, on it put me dead on to where I was. Installed Damages rom yesterday and have been trying to check out all the changes for my self.
     
  7. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    I believe part of that is the fact that we're working with a Verizon ROM, so it might not be quite as good at getting a more accurate location reading off the towers (or something like that). The GPS gets close enough though. I was playing with google nav last night, and it was an extremely good navigation app. I liked it a lot better than the old Sprint nav.
     
  8. chino0131

    chino0131 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    33
    4
    16
    Washington, D.C>
    If you have an old nandroid backup that you saved before the update to Sprint Navigation you get Sprint Nav to work this way. I have it working on the Damageless ROM. I used the Astro file back up to get it to work. Just wipe, restore old nandroid backup, go to Sprint Nav, and update the Sprint app. After that, the update should be saved to your files. Wipe again and restore your nandroid backup from 2.1 and restore Sprint Nav. Worked fine for me. Hope this helps!
     
  9. momoceio

    momoceio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    1,235
    149
    163
    Sr. Systems Administrator
    St. Louis
    I have better luck with the Google Nav, seems to be much quicker and routing/rerouting.
     
  10. cirehawk

    cirehawk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    278
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    278
    8
    36
    Southern California
    I would suggest this as well. By default, GPS is off and it uses wi-fi to try and find your location. Using wi-fi is not very accurate. By the way, it was the same (in my experience) with the 1.5 rom's using Sprint nav. Enabling GPS pinpointed my location exactly.
     
  11. SamXp

    SamXp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Google Maps is nifty but not quite as practical a Navigator as the Spring Nav. Here's the apk if you want to go back

    SN28-1029-tn-signed.apk
     
    Fenga Papit likes this.
  12. TerrBear

    TerrBear Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    108
    18
    38
    Southwest Florida
    Sprint Nav is one of the reasons i went back to Fresh 1.something. I tried the Google Nav and it just does not work as well.
     
  13. stricklerjosh

    stricklerjosh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    114
    8
    36
    High Point, NC
    Have you guys tried the telenav application? I had it on Choc's rom and it works great...now I had to go back to aloyious and can't find the APK for it anywhere...anyone have it?
     
  14. LxMxFxD

    LxMxFxD Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    256
    42
    43
    My Hero!

    Heh, pun intended. Thanks man.

    As for everyone else - you were right about enabling GPS. I'll use Google Nav as a good "alternative" to sprint nav. Sprint nav 2.8 is just great in my own opinion :)
     
  15. SamXp

    SamXp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Yeah Google Maps is nifty with street view, sattelite view, etc but the voice is awful and screen layout isn't quite as GPS-like as Sprint Nav 2.8
    I haven't opted for a GPS in a rental car even since I got this phone. Sprint Nav hasn't let me down yet.
     
  16. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA

    here ya go... http://bit.ly/cNG3Wd
     
    stricklerjosh likes this.
  17. thatjerk

    thatjerk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    82
    4
    16
    USAF
    Delaware
    Forget the Sprint Navigation App. Use the TeleNav App. It is faster, smaller and I have had absolutely no problems using it for two weeks.
     
  18. SamXp

    SamXp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Wait another two weeks after your 30 days are up and it's $2.99/month. I do like that it is smaller, but I haven't noticed it being any faster than Sprint Nav.
     
  19. LxMxFxD

    LxMxFxD Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    256
    42
    43
    Yeah. I use navigation maybe 2 or 3 times a week. Not much but totally need it when I need it, ya know? Kinda does'nt warrant the $3/mo.
     
  20. SlothyUK

    SlothyUK Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    52
    4
    16
    Auto Dealership
    Cartersville, GA
    Seems like I will be keeping both Google Nav and Sprints Telenav on my phone.

    Sprints nav kicks butt with the ability to call in where you want to go and it loads it up on the phone. Favs Recent places, and a decent voice are all great. Now that I am 2.07d freshed, it even runs faster.

    Google does work faster and I love the LABS like terrain, satellite and street view.

    Maybe if I copy and paste one file onto the other and slap it in "the Kitchen" to load, I will have the best of both worlds. :D
     
  21. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    73
    4
    16
    Tampa
    I have sprint nav and google nav in DC2.08 (2.1)
     
  22. Fenga Papit

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    487
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    487
    38
    43
    I have Fresh 2.0d and miss Sprint Navigator. I downloaded the apk SamXp posted above, but how do I put that on my phone? I am really a newb at this even though my tech expertise is very good in other areas. Just very unfamiliar with all of the terms and "how to" things with the Hero.
     
  23. SlothyUK

    SlothyUK Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    52
    4
    16
    Auto Dealership
    Cartersville, GA
    I downloaded the latest version of Kitchen and used that to add Navigator and the Footprint feature....very easy!!!
     
  24. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA

    either install it through kitchen... OR.. put the apk on your SD card. then use file manager (on your phone) and click on the apk.. it'll install it..or download app installer from the market..
     
    Fenga Papit likes this.
  25. Fenga Papit

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    487
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    487
    38
    43
    Thanks!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...