1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Sprint] Need to Unroot for Service.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by UrbanHillPG, Jul 14, 2013.

  1. UrbanHillPG

    UrbanHillPG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    66
    3
    16
    Hello All....I need to take in my sprint Note 2 for repair and my phone is currently rooted using Jelly Bomb. I've tried searching online and youtube for ways to unroot but their methods seems out of day..What is the latest way to unroot? Thank You
     

    Advertisement

  2. -Mike-

    -Mike- Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    370
    191
    68
    Male
    Baltimore
    Follow this link.....

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2086769

    Download and copy to sd card. Flash from TWRP. do NOT wipe dalvik and cache after flashing. Just reboot, the wipe whatever you want. This will put you back to stock. I use the MC2 version. You can try the MA7 as well.
     
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,983
    Posts:
    20,218
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,218
    10,140
    1,983
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Make sure you back up what you need, As with most roms wipe data/factory reset prior to flashing!
     
  4. UrbanHillPG

    UrbanHillPG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    66
    3
    16
    Does it matter whether i use MC2 or MA7?

    Let me get this right.

    step 1: download MC2 of MA7 and place in my SD card
    step 2: reboot into TWRP. Do I WIPE EVERYTHING?
    step 3: flash either the MC2 or MA7 zip
    step 4: reboot

    at this point i should be back to stock rom with no root?

    Thanks for your help
     
  5. UrbanHillPG

    UrbanHillPG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    66
    3
    16
    Am i only wiping data and factory reset? how about Dalvik? and cache
     
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,983
    Posts:
    20,218
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,218
    10,140
    1,983
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Make sure you make a Nandroid, so you have it incase you want to restore once you re root, but simply wipe data and FR, no need to do Cache and Dalvik.
     
  7. UrbanHillPG

    UrbanHillPG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    66
    3
    16
    Thank you for your reply. Im also getting rid of my Note 2 so i really just want to completely remove root for the next person.
     
  8. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,983
    Posts:
    20,218
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,218
    10,140
    1,983
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Then yes but I still would do a Nandroid and save it on your PC, just incase until to sell it, once sold and gone you can delete, better safe then sorry, you never know what happens. It never hurts to be safe
     
  9. UrbanHillPG

    UrbanHillPG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    66
    3
    16
    True...I will do that...1 last question, should i download and flash MC2 or MA7? Thank you in advance.
     
  10. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,983
    Posts:
    20,218
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,218
    10,140
    1,983
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Doesn't really matter, but if you want to sell it updated then MC2, if not MA7 and they can update if they choose.
     
  11. UrbanHillPG

    UrbanHillPG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    66
    3
    16
    Im sorry but I have one more question. When im in TWRP, I go to Wipe, should I go into advance wipe and check off the type of wipes? If so which ones should I check? i know u said not Dalvik cache and cache but a factory reset includes them. Im on TWRP v2.6.0.1... thank you.

    The options in advance wipe are.... dalvik cache, cache, system, data, internal storage, external storage, and USB-OTG
     
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,983
    Posts:
    20,218
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,218
    10,140
    1,983
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Just do a system and data.

    Your SD card stuff transfer and then you can delete that after
     
  13. UrbanHillPG

    UrbanHillPG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    66
    3
    16
    Thank you for ur help good sir...I did it and everything seems to be working fine...now when I sell this phone to the next person, I can do a normal factory rest before givine them the phone?
     
  14. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,983
    Posts:
    20,218
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,218
    10,140
    1,983
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Bingo and also make sure if you have important stuff on your SD card that you transfer then delete, Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...