1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Sprint Samsung Intercept 2.2 update details!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by latinmaxima, Nov 18, 2010.

  1. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Did they fix the Soft Keys and the Proximity Sensor........
     

    Advertisement

  2. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Hmmmmnow i need to find out if they fixed the Exploit to root!
    DURN
     
  3. XoSummerBabyXo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    So today I received the froyo update for my sprint intercept and I like it a lot. Except for the pure white colors that show up in the notification bar and the messaging section, I was wondering if there was any way to change this or if I stuck with this basic white color that I have ? :thinking:
     
  4. defiant79

    defiant79 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    16
    1
    36
    My wife's Intercept updated this morning. I haven't messed with it much yet, but I did notice that the wifi and other icons were gone from the notification bar. Is this normal or did something go wrong with the update?
     
  5. XoSummerBabyXo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Mine is the same I had to go to settings and turn it on. And as for the vibration, silent thing there is this thing when you go to unlock your phone on the right side that has like a speaker if you slide that it turns vibration on.
     
  6. daystrom

    daystrom Member
    Rank:
     #1,443
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    71
    6
    16
    IT
    NE Ohio
    Both my wife's Intercept and son's Intercept updated this morning to 2.2.

    WOW - The phone actually works now! It no longer drops the data connection after leaving a voicemail or mms, location services finally work on the apps, and best of all the phone is responsive. I was able to free up a lot of ram using app2sd to move apps to the SD card too.

    Thank you Sprint and Samsung!
    :D
     
  7. MCAT

    MCAT Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    Ditto! Daughters phone updated this morning. It looks good!
     
  8. phallen

    phallen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Emergency Medical Tech
    glad it working for someone..... ready to throw mine out the window of a moving vehicle. the problems i had with 2.1 are nothing compared this. seems like i'm getting a force close message every 15min.:mad: yes it does look great and love the extra home screens.
     
  9. XoSummerBabyXo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    30
    3
    16

    Have you tried calling your service provider? Maybe they can offer some assistance. Mine is working great, just not sure i like the layout ( the slate grey colors every where i go)

    Hopefully it will work for you soon, have you gone to your settings and tried to update it manually ?
     
    phallen likes this.
  10. phallen

    phallen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Emergency Medical Tech
    manually update what? android, profile or PRL? after android updated this morning, it notified me that there were no firmware updates
     
  11. XoSummerBabyXo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    30
    3
    16
  12. bigdave757

    bigdave757 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    20
    3
    16
    Yorktown, Va
    Yea so far my phone hasnt froze or anything yet. So far so good!
     
  13. bmore14

    bmore14 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    how can you get the ota update to do it again my phone keeps saying it's up to date but it's on 2.1 any suggestions
     
  14. dvycke18

    dvycke18 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I too received the update and I miss the icons for wireless, bluetooth and silent/vibrate on the notification screen! However, there is a widget that you can now add to your home screen that has all of those functions and it doesn't look all that bad!
     
  15. daystrom

    daystrom Member
    Rank:
     #1,443
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    71
    6
    16
    IT
    NE Ohio
    Just wait. You will get it eventually. I believe the update is rolled down in batches so maybe your batch isn't ready yet.

    Or are you saying you did apply it but it still says 2.1?
     
  16. neutrino68

    neutrino68 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Los Angeles
    I would change the title to "What a world of disappointment!." Wifi settings, Bluetooth, sound, etc are now GONE from the notification window. Really stupid. And calendar and google processes crash constantly. Phone is slower, too. Better be fixes soon or Sprint is taking this phone back!
     
  17. phallen

    phallen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Emergency Medical Tech

    thank you for the advice. i updated the profile and the PRL. have crashed since.
     
  18. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,622
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    5,622
    4,625
    623
    Sales
    The Sea of Tranquility
    The update is for Sprint phones only. I haven't seen anything from vm about a upgrade......yet.
     
  19. phallen

    phallen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Emergency Medical Tech
    update the Profile and PRL... with extra home screens you can download the widgets.
     
  20. XoSummerBabyXo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Granted the Wifi, bluetooth, sound, and such are now gone but I find the new software very interesting. Before on the intercept you had to have a unlock pattern now we actually have a code we can put it which for me adds for better security. Not to mention on my system it seems to be moving and faster and certain applications are no longer crashing!
     
  21. XoSummerBabyXo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Your welcome, are you saying it crashed since then or it hasn't ?
     
  22. phallen

    phallen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Emergency Medical Tech
    hasn't..:D
     
  23. crawrj

    crawrj Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    My wife got hers early this morning in Ky but it bricked her phone. Took it to the store and they replaced it. Updated the new phone with no problems. It is a lot better now. But I don't like the icons missing from the notification area.
     
  24. crawrj

    crawrj Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    This update is only for the Sprint Intercept.
     
  25. Eldin10

    Eldin10 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    7
    4
    6
    Do you have any evidence? I spoke with a Sprint representative. She said Virgin Mobile is part of Sprint. She also said that if it is an Android Samsung Intercept running 2.1,it will get updated.
     
    striker325 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...