1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sprint store

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by steam374, Mar 4, 2011.

  1. steam374

    steam374 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    190
    8
    36
    Washington
    So i was just wondering if i were to take my phone in to the sprint store to find out why when i put my 8gb sd card it boot loops. Would they question me about my custom boot image and root and such???
     

    Advertisement

  2. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'm pretty sure most Sprint stores will see your image and deduce that it's the problem

    Why don't you remove the custom boot image and see what happens
     
  3. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    I think maybe you have a defective microSD card. Exchange it for another one maybe?

    There is no reason a microSD card should cause boot loops like that. The only thing I can think of is that it is defective, especially if your old 2GB microSD card is working fine.
     
  4. alsnoturpal

    alsnoturpal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    0
    35
    Sprint Service & Repair Rep
    Miami
    I work at a store, and most of the time we wont even mess with your phone if its rooted, try formatting your card on a computer, it might just be that.
     
  5. steam374

    steam374 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    190
    8
    36
    Washington
    lol thats what JB recommended to me so i went out and got a new micro sd card the one i have right now and its the same thing. But one thing is i can run my phone on one of the restores i have but everything force closes and its my restore with nothing on it.
     
  6. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    If you can get your hands on that microSD card reader you could plug it into your computer and copy the files off of it and then give it a good formatting as suggested above. That MIGHT alleviate your problems.

    It could just be that the files on that card are corrupted. If that is the case, there is not much you can do to recover them unless you have backups elsewhere.
     
  7. steam374

    steam374 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    190
    8
    36
    Washington
    Well i just formatted the card through my lg rumor 2 lol pretty ghetto but it works so now I'm gonna copy all the files from my 2gb sd card to 8 hope to God this works! :)
     
  8. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,462
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,462
    8,275
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    If it doesn't then there is something that you are transferring that is causing your issue


     
  9. steam374

    steam374 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    190
    8
    36
    Washington
    Yeah but do you think if i re-flashed my rom and kernel from sd card would that help at all?
     
  10. steam374

    steam374 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    190
    8
    36
    Washington
    Why is it doing this! what is wrong with my phone?!?!?!?!?
     
  11. steam374

    steam374 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    190
    8
    36
    Washington
    Ok i got it!!!!

    All i had to do was a factory/data reset with my 8gb sd card in the phone and also had install my update.zip idk why i didnt think of that before!!!
     
  12. steam374

    steam374 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    190
    8
    36
    Washington
    No ones gonna congratulate me.......Oh ok i see how it is.
     
  13. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,462
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,462
    8,275
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Congrats, LOL [​IMG] [​IMG]


     
    steam374 likes this.
  14. steam374

    steam374 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    190
    8
    36
    Washington
    haha thank you :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...