1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sprint systems slow/down?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by phalcon, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. dave158316

    dave158316 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    17
    7
    16
    i was at radioshack since 10am and its not almost noon... i left while they try getting my evo activated.... this is killing me i want my phone and i got other things to do today!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. phalcon

    phalcon Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    33
    4
    16
    Telecom
    Brooklyn, NY
    Well, I have a friend in ATL that says it's slow there, but moving as long as the CSR keeps trying. I went in at 10 am and it's been nearly 2 hours and I haven't heard peep from RS. I'm about to call them and see if they've made progress. It sounds like if they keep trying they can get through, so I'll probably just go down there and wait to force them into being a bit more vigilant.
     
  3. tmac4life

    tmac4life Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    52
    5
    16
    yup i'm with you guys, i was there for over an hour and was told to come back. I am hoping it is sooner rather than later!
     
  4. libai8268

    libai8268 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    137
    9
    36

    Well, I have other appointments in an hour, I hope it won't take too long for them to get my EVO activated. :p Otherwise I might have to leave before they finish it. (Noooooo~~~~)
     
  5. Scarlett920

    Scarlett920 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    54
    4
    36
    Education Field
    New York City
    I just got back from the RS store in lower downtown Manhattan and I was told the same thing. I didn't make a big fuss cause I work about 5 mins away from the store. I also noticed that they about 15 EVO in the store window on display!
     
  6. sanjsrik

    sanjsrik Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    60
    1
    16
    Male
    Brooklyn, NY
    RS in Battery Park in NYC just called asking if I could come in later because their systems are all down to Sprint.
     
  7. raqball

    raqball Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    523
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    523
    155
    93
    I have been waiting since 9am for my port to go through..... 2 hours and counting....
     
  8. Ashenor

    Ashenor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    127
    11
    38
    Metro Detroit
    Gah i need to switch a instinct back to my friends upgrade line and then switch it to my line still also after RS actually gets it switched over.
     
  9. phalcon

    phalcon Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    33
    4
    16
    Telecom
    Brooklyn, NY
    Porting is a little different. What you're waiting on is your old carrier to release your number to Sprint. The trouble we're having is that Sprint's own servers are way overloaded because they didn't plan properly for a metric assload of requests to their servers.
     
  10. SkunkApe

    SkunkApe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    228
    39
    43

    they did for me. the system kept timing out, couldn't do anything
     
  11. chazglenn3

    chazglenn3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    32
    2
    16
    I've been at Radio Shack since 6 this morning and it is now 9...they are still trying to activate it...
     
  12. phalcon

    phalcon Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    33
    4
    16
    Telecom
    Brooklyn, NY
    How long did calling in take? The RS CSR told me that phoning in for activation was way backed up too. Hmmm.
     
  13. SkunkApe

    SkunkApe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    228
    39
    43
    it was pretty quick actually. they ended up activating 3 phones in about 10 min.
     
  14. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    191
    67
    53
    Houston TX
    Yup all systems are down. I was able to activate mine around 6am. Only took me about 10 minutes. I feel bad because I keep pulling my EVIDENCE out front of my customers waiting.
     
  15. tjwoo

    tjwoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    217
    47
    53
    My appointment was at 1pm. They called me saying that sprint system was down, telling me they must reschedule me for after 4pm. It is now set for 4:30pm.
    A little disappointed, but not totally unexpected. It's launch day after all.
     
  16. Ashenor

    Ashenor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    127
    11
    38
    Metro Detroit
    Any luck trying to call in and do it?

    I hate to hold my friend up all afternoon since he is doing me a favor as it is.
     
  17. Eric_SoCal

    Eric_SoCal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    We just got back from Sam's Club in Gardena, California. We waited about 45 minutes before the rep could get the system up. Once it was we were out in about 10 minutes with our phones.

    :D

    Eric :cool:
     
  18. unwallflower

    unwallflower Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    131
    12
    38
    I wouldn't say they are DOWN completely... I just had mine activated (literally walked out of the store 10 minutes ago). It's just very, very slow. It took a little over an hour.
     
  19. asaberan

    asaberan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    227
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    227
    33
    43
    This is absolutely ridiculous. If they knew there was such a demand for it (touting that 1.2 million people pre-registered/pre-ordered) then they should've been ready for this. There is absolutely no excuse to launch a phone on a Friday and expect people to wait all day to get activated. I'm going to a Sprint store to get mine shortly and if it doesn't activate quickly, I'm going to tell them to keep it. I'll just order online and get it next week instead. I'm not spending half my day in a store waiting on a system that should've been ready to meet the demand ahead of time.
     
  20. Kidmet

    Kidmet Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    71
    18
    18
    Denver, CO
    Just got back from best buy. It took 90 min, but they got it done. Sounds like some best buys are being lazy!
     
  21. Android 17

    Android 17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    575
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    575
    176
    113
    It took me 2 hours to get my phone at my RS, their network was down/incredibly slow. Oh well, I'm just glad to finally have it.
     
  22. joeyv69ragtop

    joeyv69ragtop Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    16
    1
    36
    Developer
    Buffalo, NY
    ugh, I wish I had checked the forums before I wasted my lunch break driving to BB only to be told they could not activate my phone. A phone call would have been nice. Anyone else planning to go get their EVO please call ahead so you don't waste your time.
     
  23. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,491
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,491
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    **** that! i have an appointment! they WILL give me my phone. i'm calling no one lol
     
    clambert1273 likes this.
  24. clambert1273

    clambert1273 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    581
    149
    93
    Recruiter
    sunny california
    my BB just called me and told me not to worry about coming in at 10:30 (PST).. they can't activate :( now I don't know when I should try...
     
  25. KaeEss

    KaeEss Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Yeah, same here in Maryland. They just kept trying @ BB until it went through
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...