1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Sprint] Tried flashing stock ROM, stuck on "Downloading...Do Not Turn Off Target!!"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by agroom, Jun 21, 2014.

1. agroom

agroom Member
    None

Aug 10, 2010
    Male
    Office/IT Manager
    Wisconsin
    I'm sorry if this is a common/easy fix, but I've been searching forum posts for longer than I care to mention and haven't found an answer. I recently purchased a Sprint Samsung Galaxy Note 2 pre-modded with CM. I forget what version, but it was either the latest or one back.

In order to activate it on Ting though, I had to flash the stock ROM which I've never done this before. First thing I did was to reset to factory default through the phone's settings. I'd installed several apps, etc so I figured it best to start with a fresh OS. To flash the stock ROM I was directed to this video.

I made it to 1:52, following the tutorial exactly (to the best of my knowledge), and this is where I think I messed up. I selected "Flash Firmware" (which it looks like that's what he does), some warning screens came up, clicked yes/contine and the phone rebooted. It quickly flashed "Galaxy Note II" then came to the "Downloading...Do not turn off target!!" screen. Eventually when he got to this part, he just restarted and it booted to android, but unfortunately mine just booted back to the same screen.

This is when I started browsing forums...umteen hours ago. So far I've tried:
    • Removing battery, waiting up to 5 min, replacing battery, power on: boots to same screen
    • Power off by holding power button, waiting a few min, power on: boots to same screen
    • Remove battery, hold vol down + pwr + home: boots to "Warning! A custom OS can cause critical problems in a phone and installed applications. If you want to download a custom OS, press the volume up key. Otherwise, press the volume down key to cancel.