1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Sprint] What should I set my min. and max. cpu to?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cannon11, Mar 11, 2014.

  1. cannon11

    cannon11 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    151
    8
    36
    Male
    Wisconsin
    So I just got franco kernel and am going to overclock my phone.
    I don't want to take it too far, just want to smooth some laginess and just make it a bit quicker. I know if varies for each device, but just tell me what you would think would be best.

    I'm also not sure what to set my minimum cpu to.

    My device stock is 1200, should I set it to 1305 or 1420? Don't want to raise it any more than that.

    And my minimum stock was 350, should I keep it, or lower it to 192, or raise it to 537? I don't want to raise it any more than that.

    and should I check the box "set on boot"?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SulkyAndroid17

    SulkyAndroid17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012

    Dec 17, 2012
    333
    145
    68
    Male
    College Student
    Uhmerica
    I think you answered your own question. Since it varies we can't really tell you anything. Because we all have something different.

    Go as far as you can until the lag is gone. And then further after that until the drain on battery is more than you like.

    Min is the same way. Just in the opposite direction. I've heard arguments for keeping the clock above 250mhz. But I think it still boils down to preference.

    You should have "set on boot" checked after you get stable settings. Unless, you enjoy resetting your clock speeds every time you reboot.

    I don't know what kind of lag you have, but UI lag is due more so to GPU instead of CPU. So you might be looking in the wrong place for a performance increase.
     
  3. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Every phone is different, and will be able to handle different speeds/voltages.

    What carrier are you on?
     
  4. cannon11

    cannon11 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    151
    8
    36
    Male
    Wisconsin
  5. badblue1

    badblue1 * TRUCKS ARE BEAUTIFUL *
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    1,094
    375
    163
    Male
    truck driver
    ~ the "burgh" ~

    First, don't check the box "set on boot " until your phone runs without force closing or rebooting on it's own.

    A good rule of thumb ...keep going up 1setting at a time, run it for awhile then go to next setting, keep going up until your phone reboots on its own, then drop it down 2 settings, now you can check the "set on boot box ". You don't want to set it where it gets hot,, heat is not a good thing.

    You also don't want to set the min. to low, it's to hard to ramp up cpu from too low a cpu setting .,hard on battery.
     
  6. Zeinzu

    Zeinzu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    209
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011

    Oct 3, 2011
    209
    30
    43
    Do not modify your CPU/GPU frequencies or voltages.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...