1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sprint's Roaming Contract with Verizon...

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by thezlog, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    So all it is doing is skipping a step? So I still won't be able to make phone calls or get data when I am allegedly roaming.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Technically you should have the ability for phone, text and 1x data.
     
  3. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    22
    38
    I never seen 1x in the notification bar
     
  4. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    22
    38

    Where do u see 1x I don't see it I have a HTC Evo 4g
     
  5. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Not all phones show speeds accurately. My Epic shows 1x, and I'm down in dnna's neck of the woods. Getting good 4g but horrible 3g. If I'm not mistaken, the roaming contract is set up for 1x data and not 3g. Can't vouch for what individual phones show up in the status bar.
     
  6. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Setting my phone to automatic roaming worked great this weekend. I have no idea why doing this worked, but telling it to roam when the roaming warning came up on the screen would not. Stoopid phone.
     
    BenChase7 likes this.
  7. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,229
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,229
    874
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix

    Sweet! :)
     
  8. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Maybe the phone treats it differently when manually done compared to automatic.
     
  9. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Yes, but why? :(
     
  10. tryingtohelp

    tryingtohelp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Please be careful about your minutes while roaming. When I bought my EVO, Sprint sales told me also, as shown in posts above, that your any-mobile-anytime minutes include roaming calls. This is absolutely UNTRUE.

    Your minutes (1500 in my case) ARE used when roaming even if you call a mobile phone.

    I know this because I just got a surprise bill for $500. A Sprint tower went down recently in my area, so I had no option but to be roaming for several days. I was on the phone with Sprint for hours, trying to convince them to remove the charges. They said that I had been roaming and had used up my minutes. They said that it is written right on the web site, "while on the Nationwide Sprint or Nextel National Networks," so they wouldn't remove the charges.

    I like Sprint, and I wouldn't go back to Verizon, but I feel like Sprint just stole $400 from me.
     
  11. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    I'd talk to tech support about the tower being down where you were roaming. Leave your bill out of it. Try to get and write down as much specific info about the tower outage as possible. Then call back to customer service and make your case. And then take it to tech sites and your local news. "Sprint forcing customers to roam in sprint coverage areas and padding their bills by manually shutting down towers." That would make a nice headline. Maybe the fcc would like to hear that story.
     
    damewolf13 and KOLIO like this.
  12. worlok

    worlok Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 31, 2012

    May 31, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I just left Verizon for Sprint and so far while it's "okay", the coverage is nowhere near what I am used to. I work in Manhattan and just down the block on 28th street is the "Cafe 28" and I am used to eating lunch and surfing in their upstairs eating area. Not anymore... no data signal... and my roaming is set to automatic with no roaming guard enabled, using a spiffy new Samsung Galaxy S
     
  13. pwabbit

    pwabbit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    502
    60
    78
    I am a long time Sprint customer. Sprint is a great deal for the money unless you need two things: 1) A strong signal 2) Decent data speeds.

    Sprint is known for having the slowest 3g speeds in the industry. Unless you are surfing with full time Wimax, you are going slooooow. It would be the opposite of the T-Mobile commercials. I think Sprint would be on a tricycle.




     
  14. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Fixed that for you.
     
  15. burke002

    burke002 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011

    Apr 3, 2011
    2
    1
    6
    OpsManager
    Baytown, TX
    OK people I'm a truck driver and I drive all over the US and I have Sprint, so you can imagine the roaming I do. Your post is incorrect as long as you are not Roaming internationally which means Canada, Mexico, or over seas you are unlimited. I make a lot of phone calls to my wife who has AT&T ( why do have Sprint, one word Throttle) and I have yet to go over my 900 minutes or even come close. All my calls to my wife have been free no matter if I'm in some remote area on a US hwy or in the Interstate in a major city. No roaming means no roaming , unlimited means unlimited. Hope this helps


    With said I do experience a lot of dropped calls unlike AT&T, love the unlimited data though.


    OTR driver burke002
     
    BenChase7 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...