1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Start playing Audible?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by flu13, Jun 16, 2013.

  1. flu13

    flu13 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    600
    24
    83
    I'm completely new to Tasker, but I'm trying to figure something out and wondering if I can't actually do what I want.

    What I want is for my phone to automatically fire up Audible and start playing when it connects to the bluetooth in my car.

    I've gotten it most of the way there. The screen will unlock, turn on and it will launch Audible in the "Player" action. What I can't do is tell it to start playing. I keep thinking that I should be able to just do the Media "Play" action, since once Audible is playing, play/pause commands from Bluetooth control it, but what I end up with instead is my Music app starting to play.

    Can anyone please tell me how to make Audible start playing?
     

    Advertisement

  2. kraig109

    kraig109 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013

    Jun 20, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Anybody? This is my primary challenge too. I was suggested using the 'D-Pad' control in tasker to select play and click it, but my phone reports the D-Pad is not available - GNote2.
     
  3. KitWasHere

    KitWasHere Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013

    Mar 31, 2013
    109
    39
    53
    You need root to use the D-Pad. I'm not familiar with Audible but there may be an intent to start playing audio.
     
  4. virtus

    virtus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    This might help. Just add this action after your Open App / Audible action.

    New action
    Script
    Run Shell
    Command: input keyevent KEYCODE_MEDIA_PLAY_PAUSE
    check Use Root (you will need to confirm the SU popup if you haven't already done it - also not sure if root is needed)

    This works on my GS3. This also works for spotify.
     

Share This Page

Loading...