1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Starting a widget that's not on my screen?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Calab, Oct 15, 2009.

  1. Calab

    Calab Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009

    With only three screens to work with, I'm QUICKLY running out of room for my apps, folders and widgets. The dock is one thing that I really miss from my old iPhone.

    Is there an easy way to start a widget if it has been installed, but NOT put onto the screen?

    For example, the Google Search is handy, but takes up four spaces on my page. Is there any way I can make it easily accessible, but not living on my screen all the time? Same for my Calendar widget, etc.
     

    Advertisement

  2. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    1,012
    72
    128
    No, that's the nature of a widget, it's always on the screen. They don't launch like programs.
     
  3. Calab

    Calab Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009

    Hrm... Guess I'll need to find some apps to replace the widgets...

    Before I start looking, can anyone suggest apps for the following...

    - Google search
    - A single app that lets you toggle Wifi, Bluetooth, GPS, Mute, etc...
     
  4. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    You might give "Useful Switcher" a try...
     
  5. Fingerlickin

    Fingerlickin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    19
    1
    16
    There are several options that will give you up to 7 home screens. I currently use 5 home screens. Have you rooted your phone?
     
  6. Rob

    Rob I'm tellin' mommy on you!
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    563
    Posts:
    2,084
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008

    Mar 26, 2008
    2,084
    3,439
    563
    Androiding
    Hey Calab - what phone do you have?

    A lot of the phones with hardware keyboards also have a dedicated search key. If you press that you're taken directly to a search box which - for me - has replaced the need for a Search widget for the price "space" problem you're having. I have a G1 BTW.

    I know that only frees up 3 spaces or so... but every little bit counts!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...