1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Starting to freak....can't unroot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by confused one, May 4, 2011.

  1. confused one

    confused one Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Picture Drawer
    I am trying to unroot because barnacle (the only reason I rooted) did not work. I am trying to follow toilets guide. On the emulator, when I enter "- su" it says permission denied. What am I doing wrong?
    Also I used z4root and unrooted then rerooted because rooley said the unroot does not take out 2 items.
    HELP PLEASE!!!!!!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163

    First we need to verify that you actually still have root...do your root apps work right? Thinks like titanium, clockwork, etc??...

    If you can boot into clockwork then what I would do is flash maderstcok.zip

    It will bring you back to a completely stock phone like when it came out of the box...no trace of root...
     
  3. confused one

    confused one Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Picture Drawer
    I can't open up clockwork. I want to make sure things like the superuser log is gone in case I have to take it in.
     
  4. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,983
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,983
    25,397
    3,933
    Male
    You'll get more help in here, bro. :)
     
  5. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    Best way to do that IMO is to re-root the device using z4...find maderstcok.zip and flash that...it will put you back ti ABSOLUTELY stock...then let google sync your apps
     
  6. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    does maderstcok remove the superuser icon?
     
  7. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    ive never had to use it myself...i've always SBF'd back to stock...but as far as i know it absolutely does...it flashes your phone back to bone stock...from what i understand it is as close to an SBF as you can get through Clockwork
     
  8. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    i remember i maderstcok to get to gb and i learned real quick not to do that again :p
     
  9. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    yeah for whatever reason it doesn't work for that...need to actually SBF
     
  10. confused one

    confused one Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Picture Drawer
    This is becoming a major PITA! Found maderstcok.zip and his instructions say to "browse using the volumebuttons"??? What does this mean? All I can do is get my volume to go up and down.
    I am guessing I never should have rooted in the first place. I don't know enough about these phones to mess with them....
    I appreciate everything given and any other help that will be given.
     
  11. Brav1111

    Brav1111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    143
    25
    43
    When you are in Recovery, you use your volume buttons to move up and down to select which option you want to choose.

    I agree with Metfanant, I would reroot, then boot into Recovery using Clockwork and install the maderstock zip (that is where the volume buttons let you go up and down).

    Otherwise I just suggest sbf.
     
  12. bcltoys

    bcltoys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #191
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    705
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    705
    47
    68
    Male
    Marine tech
    Maryland
    You download it to your sd card when you go into clockwork you use your volume buttens to move up or down in the clockwork menus.
     
  13. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    :D its no biggie...lets hope i don't skip any steps...

    1. Make sure you are rooted, if not...run z4root and get rooted again...
    2. Put maderstcok.zip on your SDcard
    3. Open Droid X Bootstrapper...click "Bootstrap recovery"...wait for it to say "success." Then click "Reboot recovery"
    4. You will reboot into recovery...this is where you "browse using the volume buttons." You will select "install zip from sd card"
    5. then you will select to chose a zip (cant remember the exact wording)
    6. then you will see your sd card contents...go down and find maderstcok.zip...select it
    7. it will ask again if you want to install...say yes...
    8. let it work its magic
     
  14. bbuck002

    bbuck002 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    622
    60
    78
    Research Tech
    Buffalo
    in order to flash maderstock.zip follow these instructions in order (and these instructions assume you still have root permissions)
    -open droid x bootstrapper
    -touch bootstrap recovery, wait for it to say success, then hit ok
    -touch reboot recovery (this will take you to clockwork recovery where you will use the volumes keys he was talking about.)
    -use volume keys to scroll to the line that reads "wipe data/factory reset"
    -select with camera button
    -vol key scroll to select yes and wait for it to finish
    -use back key to get to main menu
    -again use vol keys to go to "wipe cache partition"
    -scroll down and select yes
    -select with camera key and wait til it finishes
    -back key to menu
    -vol keys to "install zip from sdcard"
    -camera key to select
    -vol. key to "choose zip from sdcard"
    -camera button to select
    -scroll with vol keys until you find the maderstock.zip
    -camera key to select
    -scroll and select yes and wait for it to finish
    -back key to main menu
    -camera button to select "reboot system now"

    and you are back to stock
     
    confused one likes this.
  15. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    good call on the wipe data! i forgot that! :D you might not NEED to do this since you're installing over a Froyo installation...but it still is a good idea
     
    confused one likes this.
  16. confused one

    confused one Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Picture Drawer
    Is clockwork called ROM Manager by Clockworkmod in the market?
     
  17. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    Rom manager is just another form of clockwork mod, just with a gui interface is all
     
  18. confused one

    confused one Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Picture Drawer
    I may be in some deep doodoo here. I got to the find maderstcok.zip and it is not on my sdcard. I downloaded it. It took almost 15 minutes to get in d/l'ed.

    -EDIT- I didn't realize these were like folders. I found under the download that I have downloadfile-1.zip, downloadfile.zip, and update.zip.
    Not sure what to do here....
     
  19. jlewis74

    jlewis74 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    157
    11
    38
    Market Area Managers
    Charlotte NC
    Pretty sure the file name is madderstock340 if you downloaded it using your phone it should be in the downloads folder somewhere or actually on the card. I usually down load to my computer then copy to the SD card so it is easy to find and I have a copy incase my sd card messes up.

    If you can find that file just volume up/down till it is highlighted and press the cam buttton all the way down.

    Dont freak out the guys here will get you through this. They have helped me plenty!
     
  20. confused one

    confused one Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    25
    0
    35
    Picture Drawer
    I think I made it through this, thanks to you guys. I had no internet last night because I use the phone as my hotspot. After looking at it for a few hours after work I decided whats the worse thing that could happen? If it bricks I run over it with the truck and get a new one through insurance....
    Anyways, I ran the downloadfile-1.zip and it popped up with maderstcok and everything is working fine now. Now I need to find out why it doesn't save as the original file name.
    Thanks again for all your help. After seeing that it wasn't that scary I may do a little more research/reading and start playing around with root.
     
  21. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    I think that the stock browser renames files like that when you download them. It's a real pain, but not a big deal as long as you pay attention to what the name of it is when you download it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...