1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Step by Step Rooting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kyrie, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. Kyrie

    Kyrie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Australia Mate!
    Okay, I have read and re-read the forums to try and get an idea of how to root my Xperia x10 before starting yet another thread and to avoid you all from repeating yourselves.
    The video looks easy enough but i just need some help to get started. Am I downloading files to my computer or to the phone? What is the best one to use with the new 2.1 etc?
    I am semi-tech saavy yet a simple Australian and just need help to get started that's all :) :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. hellsrage619

    hellsrage619 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    255
    24
    38
    Southern Califonia,USA
    1.Download z4root this is the newest version xda-developers

    2.Plug phone in to computer mount insert z4root apk into the phone just drag and drop then unmount.

    3.On phone go into market and download ASTRO file manager.

    4.Go into settings select applications the click Unknown sources make sure the check marks white.

    5.Open ASTRO scroll down till you see z4root click on it the select open app manager.

    6.Click install then exit and go open z4root and root simple as that its a one click root which also has the option to unroot you can read all the tech stuff here.Hope this helps.:)
    [APP] One Click Root App 2.1 - z4root - Updated 1.3.0 - xda-developers

    EDIT:Works like a charm on 2.1
     
    Kyrie likes this.
  3. Kyrie

    Kyrie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Australia Mate!
    The instructions have been brilliant!!!

    How ever tedious this question may be, i don't have the simple root option - i get temporary and permanent. I'm assuming i'd choose permanent, but want to double check.
     
  4. hellsrage619

    hellsrage619 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    255
    24
    38
    Southern Califonia,USA
    Select permanent.
    EDIT:Its just a nice option they added.
     
  5. Kyrie

    Kyrie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Australia Mate!
    I've noticed that a lot since reading up on androids, lots of updates on updates lol

    I just installed Busy box to confirm that its rooted, and it is :) Although all the original apps etc are still in the menu where as others have said there's just all went. not that i'm fussed, just a side note.

    Thanks heaps :)
     
  6. hellsrage619

    hellsrage619 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    255
    24
    38
    Southern Califonia,USA
    Yes same here i still have the moxier crap im trying to figure out how to delete the crap now. lol
    If i figure out how i tell ya.
    EDIT:Go download Titanium Backup it will uninstall any app as long as your rooted.
     
  7. Kyrie

    Kyrie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Australia Mate!
    Done and Done :) Nice work!
     
  8. hellsrage619

    hellsrage619 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    255
    24
    38
    Southern Califonia,USA
    No problem.
     
  9. nb_mitch

    nb_mitch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    604
    42
    88
    Male
    DB2 DBA
    Florida
    I don't have this option, under Application settings, I have

    Manage Applications (which just gives me the list of apps)
    Development
    ...USB debugging
    ...Stay Awake
    ...Allow mock locations

    I am on At&t :(
     
  10. hellsrage619

    hellsrage619 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    255
    24
    38
    Southern Califonia,USA
    I believe this only shows up if you are on Android OS 2.1 plus as far as i know z4root is not supported on 1.6 (If your on that OS).
     
  11. Kyrie

    Kyrie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Australia Mate!
    I vaguely remember something to do with USB Debugging and you have to go into the setting and select that option. Each time you connect to the computer, a notification will come up about it, but i just ignore it.
     
  12. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    And therein lies your answer.... AT&T have decided in their infinite wisdom that your interests are best served by not being allowed to install apps from unknown sources.
     
  13. hellsrage619

    hellsrage619 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    255
    24
    38
    Southern Califonia,USA
    Thanks to those who give AT&T the finger and fix up their own updates for every one else.So we can overide their crap and do what we want with something we bought and own.
     
  14. nudzbro

    nudzbro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    9
    0
    25
    Senior Manager
    soton UK
    Thanks all, worked like a charm on my 2.1 x10i :)
     
  15. hellsrage619

    hellsrage619 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    255
    24
    38
    Southern Califonia,USA
    Than let me recommend something to do with your now root X10.

    If you want you can make your own new keyboad.
    Go here sign up and start making your own keyboard.
    www.gIMpSTa.com

    HOW TO INSTALL

    Before you generate go into the market and download a barcode scanner app.(if you dont already have 1)

    Then generate keyboard scan barcode click on the link it will download to your key board to the phone.

    Then go in to the market and download astro file manager.
    Once done go into astro click on downloads then click on the htc file click on it again.Then click open app manager then hit install.

    Then go into a mesage or anywhere you can use the keyboard click and hold in the box (where your message is) then hit input method and click on the htc mod AND BAM YOUR OWN KEYBOARD.

    it could look like this :D.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    I just download it to the laptop then transfer and install on the phone.
     
  17. czezz

    czezz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    So... what does it give to you. Rooting phone.
    Is that thing makes possible to remove unwanted/default applications form phone ?
     
  18. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
  19. czezz

    czezz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    How can I get to terminal ?
    terminal
    Will it be acceisable after "rooting" or I need to install another application ?
    Will I be able to use terminal to remove default applications ?
    What about warranty ?
     
  20. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    You can install a terminal app after rooting, and you would use Titanium Backup to remove junk.
     
  21. czezz

    czezz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    OK - so Titanium Backup is this what I need but I see this is paid app 5.99$ :(
    Is there any other free software to remove Default/junk applications ?

    Do I lost warranty after I "root" my phone ?
    Is it possible to restore default settings (unroot), and restore back removed default application ?
     
  22. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    Yes, Titanium Backup free version.
    Yes.
    Yes, unroot with the app or reflash using seus.
     
  23. czezz

    czezz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    20
    0
    15
  24. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    SEUS
    Nope.
    No, it's mainly a backup tool, but it allows you to remove system apps too.
     
  25. czezz

    czezz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    20
    0
    15

Share This Page

Loading...