1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Still Confused about Android Wallpaper

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by nagano, Feb 9, 2013.

  1. nagano

    nagano Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013

    Feb 9, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Hello, new user here so please be gentle. : )

    I have read numerous posts on several forums about how to get
    wallpaper to fit an Android device without cropping. I still
    have not had success.

    I understand that stock Android crops to make images fit. But if
    I am using an image with the same resolution as my device, why would
    it need to crop at all? I want the whole image to be my wallpaper. Both
    of my devices are on Jellybean.

    Samsung Galaxy S3 is 720 x 1280.
    Asus Transformer Infinity is 1920 x 1200.

    But if I use an image the same size it still crops it so only a small
    portion of the image is visible. And this is for a non-scrolling
    wallpaper just on the home screen.

    I tried Quickpic and it allowed me to select more of the image (a larger
    square) but it still cut off the sides. Then when I applied it, the top
    and bottom were cut off too on the home screen.

    I was going to try PicSpeed but recent reviews of the last update say its
    crop feature is no longer working for full images.

    So how can I get a 720 x 1280 on my S3 or a 1920 x 1200 on my Infinity
    without losing large chunks of the image?

    Thanks for any help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. TimeAndroid

    TimeAndroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012

    Oct 27, 2012
    72
    5
    36
    Male
    Try making that image the approximate shape and size of your device screen. I have the same exact problem but some of my backgrounds look great when cropped. :D
     
  3. nagano

    nagano Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013

    Feb 9, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    I have made the image the exact size of the specs on the phone which is 720 x 1280. The box that comes up to select the area will not expand to grab the whole image. You can only select a portion of it. I tried this on stock wallpaper and using Nove Launcher. Thanks.
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,742
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,742
    12,665
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Have you turned off wallpaper scrolling in your launcher settings? If not it will be trying to select an image the shape of 1 screen high by however many homescreens you have wide.

    With most launchers turning scrolling off is enough to make it select a "screen-shaped" image, but there may be exceptions (Holo launcher, which I currently use, had one other setting that was needed for this). As I'm running Gingerbread I can't actually use Nova launcher, so don't know with that one.
     
  5. nagano

    nagano Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013

    Feb 9, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Yes, I have wallpaper scrolling turned off so I just have the same static image on all screens. I guess I will just live with it or choose pictures that will allow a lot of cropping. Thanks.
     
  6. Metroid Prime

    Metroid Prime Oil Can!!! Oil Can!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    9,110
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    9,110
    2,921
    443
    Male
    Learning web development
    Texas
    You could try an app like Zedge and get wallpapers that should fit your device. :)
     
  7. yackovsky

    yackovsky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012

    Dec 14, 2012
    31
    4
    36
    Male
    nope, don't have one now :(
    turn off wall scrolling in launcher settings, that should help lol
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,742
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,742
    12,665
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Two posts earlier he says he's done that.
     
  9. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,839
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,839
    4,546
    1,108
    Male
    What are you using to select the wallpaper? On both my Galaxy S and Galaxy Tab, if I use the default wallpaper selector or the default gallery app, I get something like this which allows me to choose the part of the wallpaper that gets cropped:

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Steve9

    Steve9 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013

    Feb 26, 2013
    3
    2
    26
    Male
    Software Developer
    Ottawa, Canada
    Not sure if you've got this working yet, but I'll ask a dumb question. Is it possible you have the width and height switched up when you create the image? With desktop stuff I'm used to the longer side being the width, but on phones/tables the longest is usually the height.

    Also, make sure you're working in pixels and not some other unit (inches, cm, etc.) in your program. I know I've accidentally done this a few times.

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...