1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support still waiting for 4.1.2 on UK SIII

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Nek_Singh, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. Nek_Singh

    Nek_Singh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    8
    0
    25
    Male
    UK
    Is anyone else in the UK still waiting for the 4.1.2 update on unbranded S3?? everytime i check for an update it just says latest updates are already installed but the version is showing up as 4.1.1. Everyone i know who has an S3 have received their update and forgotten about it!

    i've tried doing a factory reset and firmware re-installation to no avail and kies keeps saying latest firmware is already installed.

    Its really starting to annoy the crap outta me now!
     

    Advertisement

  2. floosy

    floosy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    39
    7
    16
    Lucky you. I'm on Orange (EE) and still have 4.04.
     
  3. Nek_Singh

    Nek_Singh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    8
    0
    25
    Male
    UK
    Orange are terrible at pushing out software updates, thats why i never get orange branded phones. Mine's unlocked, got it from phones4u, yet cant understand why everyone around me have got their update and i havent.
     
  4. Terry51

    Terry51 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012

    Nov 17, 2012
    58
    1
    16
    Male
    London UK.
    Mine is unbranded from TalkTalk on the vodafone uk network. Got my upgrade to 4.1.2 a couple of weeks ago.
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It may be unlocked but its the fact that it is unbranded that is relevance here.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  6. Nek_Singh

    Nek_Singh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    8
    0
    25
    Male
    UK
    Everyone i know whos got an S3 received their update a few weeks ago aswell. Thats why i'm confused as to whats going on with mine.
     
  7. JerZyT28

    JerZyT28 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    39
    6
    36
    Male
    Military
    Dover, DE
    Still waiting on t-mobile Germany...everyone else got there's...no biggie though, still loving this phone
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Try plugging it into kies
     
  9. badboybubby

    badboybubby Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    92
    6
    16
    Still nothing on Three UK either, seen something on Twitter stating that their devs weren't happy to release it as they had problems in testing.
     
  10. Nek_Singh

    Nek_Singh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    8
    0
    25
    Male
    UK
    Tried kies, says latest firmware is installed.
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Please can you confirm that you have the "BTU" CSC?

    Dial *#1234# on the phone keypad to get this information. BTU is the BriTish Unbranded CSC. Just want to make sure you have this as this is what governs your updates.
     
    Nek_Singh likes this.
  12. Nek_Singh

    Nek_Singh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    8
    0
    25
    Male
    UK
    This is what i got:

    AP:I9300XXDLJ2
    CP :I9300XXDLID
    CSC: I9300XEFDLJ2
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    That's France. Someone has manually flashed your firmware?
     
  14. Nek_Singh

    Nek_Singh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    8
    0
    25
    Male
    UK
    France?? Dont understand how thats happened:thinking:...last update i did was 4.1.1 thru kies when i was prompted (in uk)...no one else has touched my phone, its always with me.

    How do i get it back to uk firmware??:thinking:
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Maybe it was always France. DLJ2 was never released in the UK. We got DLJ4

    You can download the full OS from:

    http://www.sammobile.com/firmware/?page=3

    (Use the filters to select your device and "United Kingdom - BTU" )

    And flash it using Odin (guide) here:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1671969

    I've never done this so I'm not sure if it will wipe the data from the phone. I *believe* it doesn't.

    Please also be aware I'm just giving you the tools to do this. If you don't follow the guide properly, its not my fault.

    Any data on your sd card I recommend backing up to pc first. Aldo suggest looking at sms backup+ to backup sms to Gmail.


    Of course you could just wait until France gets the update
     
    Nek_Singh likes this.
  16. arkangeluk

    arkangeluk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    386
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    386
    23
    48
    Male
    somewhere between here and there
    i plug my phone in to charge overnight and when i came to unplug it on monday morning it was showing that it had downloaded the 4.1.2 upgrade and asked me if i wanted to instal it. my wife had the same message but im not sure if she has installed it yet. we are both on EE (tmobile/orange). two things that are slightly annoying to me are when i plug my headphones in there is nothing in the notification bar that shows what apps are available to use headphones and the other thing is down the left side there is a retractable bar that shows apps that are available with screen with in screen or whatever its called but this keeps disappearing

    ric
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Long press back button reveals and hides the multi window bar
     
    bigjon1684 and arkangeluk like this.
  18. Pothers

    Pothers Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    207
    66
    73
    Male
    Devon, UK
    I've flash stock via Odin a couple of times and it does wipe all data, including internal SD. So as SU said back up everything.

    Another thing I have found, when flashing with Odin, is that my S3 always hangs on the Samsung logo when it reboots, so you may have to pull the battery, boot into recovery and wipe data/factory reset as well
     
    SUroot likes this.
  19. Nek_Singh

    Nek_Singh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    8
    0
    25
    Male
    UK
    Flashed 4.2.1 earlier and worked like a treat! Even improved my battery performance! Thanks for your help mate, your a legend!:adore:
     
  20. howiesk8

    howiesk8 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013

    Jan 2, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    I literally just upgraded, and instantly was hit with the ear phone issue.
    Settings>Display>Page buddy>ear phone page thingy.

    (I don't care for page buddy, but it does bring up the drop down app options - woot.)
     
  21. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Download the firmware from Sammobile then flash it using Odin. Just put phone in d/load mode and turn on "usb debugging"
    Doubt it affects your warranty.
    Im so sure theres a guide for everything ive said but if not, just ask. You should have 4.1.2 by now :beer:
     
  22. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    I lost ZERO data btw, just lost root (which YOU dont need) :)
     
    SUroot likes this.
  23. aldo82

    aldo82 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    111
    12
    38
    anyone got 4.1.2 on three uk today? I've just tried checking for updates and rather than saying I have the latest version its saying that annoying message about updates being pushed out in the order they are requested which makes me think it might finally be out!
     
  24. ScoobyWRX

    ScoobyWRX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010

    Oct 14, 2010
    212
    24
    58
    Poole, Dorset
    Yeah, same for me
     
  25. liverpoolfan

    liverpoolfan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    63
    10
    18
    Ireland
    Update via Kies....quicker.
     

Share This Page

Loading...