1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Stock browser (discussion/help)?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hilker09, May 24, 2012.

  1. hilker09

    hilker09 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #365
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    161
    131
    68
    Crozet, VA
    So, wondering how everybody feels about the stock browser? I've enjoyed using Dolphin in the past, but the stock browser seems to work pretty well. I've got both of them on my home screen now, and am using them both for the time being.

    Was going to try Chrome, but with no Flash support, I'm going to wait on that one for a future beta.
     

    Advertisement

  2. rkkeller

    rkkeller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    588
    105
    93
    The Dog Pound.
    I am happy enough with it and don't plan on using anything else at least for now. I only do a little browsing so I don't need special features and things like that.
     
  3. drparton21

    drparton21 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    31
    63
    33
    It seems decent enough, but I enjoyed Dolphin HD on my OG Evo, so I installed it. I'm also going to install Skyfire just because of how well it handles flash videos.
     
  4. davvy1856

    davvy1856 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    59
    54
    33
    Overland Park, Ks
    I really like the stock browser. I've been using the ICS browser on my XOOM for awhile now and love the quick controls.

    My only issue was that at first I couldn't find how to launch incognito (which is part of the menu on the Xoom) but found it when you view the tabs. So all is good!
     
  5. spdkilz02

    spdkilz02 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    106
    37
    43
    Database Specialist
    Ohio
    I like using the Dolphin browser.
     
  6. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    The stock browser is pretty decent. Strange that it had flash turned off by default. But overall this is no better than browsing with the OG Evo.

    I switched over a day ago to XScope. Sadly, XScope 5 (a version that is nearly 2 years old) is apparently incompatible. So I have to use the newest version for compatibility reasons.

    In any event, the ICS menu button across the bottom is REALLY getting on my nerves! This phone does NOT have a 4.7 inch screen if that bar is always displayed! Seriously, when that bar is displayed, the screen size is actually slightly smaller than my OG Evo! In other words, aside from the screen being nicer, there's really no big difference between browsing with the stock browser here, and using any browser in the OG Evo.
     
  7. caborobo

    caborobo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    53
    44
    23
    Telecom
    STL
    I'm not sure if this is a browser issue, but I tried a login for a site I use for work and I get this error:[​IMG]Any ideas? My OG EVO loaded the site just fine.
     
  8. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Mine did that the first few time I tried to browse with that particular browser. I really don't know if I did anything special, but it went away. :eek:

    Give Maxthon Mobile Browser a try, it's pretty good. That was my browser of choice on the OG. ;)

     
    caborobo likes this.
  9. caborobo

    caborobo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    53
    44
    23
    Telecom
    STL

    Thanks. Maxthon did the same thing. This is a problem for me.:thinking:
     
  10. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,091
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    2,091
    665
    213
    Male
    ELP Engineer @ National Instruments
    Austin, TX
    stock browser is decent but i'm LOVING the Chrome beta, it integrates with my desktop chrome SOOOO well
     
  11. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    I've heard REALLY good things about Android ICS & the Chrome Beta. Soon as my LTE shows up I'm going to rock it and I normally rock the stock browser.
     
    Covert_Death likes this.
  12. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,779
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,779
    1,285
    323
    [​IMG] I like the new inverted screen rendering option. It is a nice little touch, and makes night browsing or low light browsing easier on the eyes. Read mode is great too, gives you just the text without the frills.

    [​IMG] I also like the incognito tabs option since I don't want my phone keeping history, passwords, form data, cookies, or any other data in case it gets lost or stolen.

    [​IMG] The browser overall is snappier.

    [​IMG] I dislike how pinch to zoom now requires the page to re-draw. It un-focuses and refocuses the text and entire page (sometimes blinks), it is annoying.

    [​IMG] I dislike how when scrolling up the page the top menu and bottom menu bars always pop up.

    [​IMG]I also miss Pinch to zoom out to go to the tab browser.
     
  13. Y2Dre

    Y2Dre Member
    Rank:
     #1,290
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    44
    41
    23
    I love the desktop integration with Chrome. But, the stock browser is just smoother to me. I still plan on playing around with Chrome to see if I can tweak it to suit me. But, in my opinion, pages render smoother with the stock browser.
     
  14. StringerBellRinger

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Me too. I always liked Dolphin on my OG EVO but I really like how Chrome synchs up with my desktop bookmarks. The default browser seems nice enough too.
     
  15. wopper81

    wopper81 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Just wondering if my web performance is normal for this phone or if I have a problem? When the web is working good, its good. When its not working good, it can be ugly. It just runs so slow at times. I have had a few times that pages won't finish loading. Videos have to stop to buffer. Just experiencing problems I never had with my old EVO. I work outside so I don't have a building blocking my signal. Can sprint do anything to check the phone to see if its ok? Thanks
     
  16. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Call them and have them do a data reset on the device. Also, find out if they are doing any tower maintenance in your area.

    I'll have 700kbs around here one moment and a crawling 50kbs another. The towers here are overloaded. I can't wait till I move for graduate school.
     
  17. guywithbluepants

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    58
    12
    18
    Hypnotist, Success Coach
    Lakewood, CA
    Are they asking us to check it??
     
  18. KenjiSpencer

    KenjiSpencer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #1,027
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    75
    24
    28
    When you're sending/receiving data, you're competing with everyone else for the bandwidth of the cell tower(s) nearest you. So, if lots of other people in your area happen to be surfing the web when you are, your browser (and everyone else's) will run slower, regardless of how strong your signal is. That could be what you're seeing.
     
  19. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,421
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Welcome to the forums, wopper81! :)

    The good news is that Sprint is upgrading over 38,000 towers and their infrastructure within the next year or so to address these concerns. Along with LTE, we'll also see a boost in 3G performance in terms of speed, range and simultaneous subscribers served.

    And the infrastructure upgrade is a big part of that, some people live near decent towers but once the traffic hits the local Sprint internal net, it clogs there. Right now, it's all a patchwork quilt of troubles.

    But the build-out is underway and going well and Sprint calls it Network Vision.
     
  20. dr g

    dr g Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    589
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    589
    187
    93
    I have been satisfied with my 3G performance from this phone, which appears to be better than the 3G, at least more reliable, was on my OG evo.
     
  21. Gladius Nova

    Gladius Nova Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    34
    35
    23
    I have found that Chrome works significantly faster than the stock browser and Dolphin which I use on my tab and my OG Evo.
     
  22. vicshalls

    vicshalls Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    390
    25
    43
    Healthcare
    H-Town
    Is anyone having issues with the stock browser locking up? Mine keeps giving me a white screen and the last time it sent an error report to htc. Wonderingt if it was just me or if this is becomig wide spred.
     
  23. PattiCakeUS

    PattiCakeUS Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    553
    Posts:
    1,553
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,553
    2,224
    553
    Female
    Yep.
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    No problems like that for me.
     
  24. bearballz

    bearballz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    240
    73
    53
    Chi-town
    Stock browser is nice, really have no complaints. But I switched over to the chrome browser and I'm really digging it.
     
  25. SoSickSilvia

    SoSickSilvia Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    29
    4
    16
    I used the stock browswer for a full week before switching to chrome. The stock browswer never gave me problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...