1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Stock launcher

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MidshipAc, Aug 26, 2013.

  1. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    Can some one put up the stock launcher apk. I don't have any of the stock files. I prefer stick over xperia launcher
     

    Advertisement

  2. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    I'll get a link up for you. Might be tomorrow I'm away from my PC right now
     
    MidshipAc likes this.
  3. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #53
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    2,838
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,838
    1,362
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
  4. Golono

    Golono Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011

    Jul 4, 2011
    88
    25
    23
    New York City
  5. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    Launcher crashes when I add attempt to add a widget.
     
  6. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    Did you chmod 644 launcher2.apk?
     
  7. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    What is chmod 644?
     
  8. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ

    Its how you set permissions in Linux by command line. Its effectively-rw-r--r-
     
  9. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    I have no clue how to do that.
     
  10. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    Download terminal emulator. Then run the following commands to install the stock launcher.

    su

    mount -o remount rw /system

    cp /directory with the launcher.apk/ launcher2.apk /system/app/

    cd /system/app

    chmod 644 launcher2.apk && reboot.

    the phone will reboot and the launcher should be ready for use
     
  11. redjama

    redjama Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #287
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    415
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013

    Mar 7, 2013
    415
    131
    78
    Male
    Glorified Welder/Fabricator
    Denver, PA
    You can use any root explorer and do it. Find the app, long press it, press properties, you should be able to change permissions right there.
     
  12. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    This is what happened. The launcher was downloaded on to sdcard/download folder
     

    Attached Files:

  13. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    red ive tried that. it says ""changing permissions was not successful. please note some file systems do not allow permission changes."
     
  14. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    the system is mounted as ro. You need to run the mount command first. You could also install the latest droidsmith update. In 0.3.10 the system partition is mounted rw
     
  15. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    Explain more in more depth how to run the mount command and the whole ro system thing.
     
  16. redjama

    redjama Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #287
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    415
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013

    Mar 7, 2013
    415
    131
    78
    Male
    Glorified Welder/Fabricator
    Denver, PA
    Did you give you file explorer root permissions??
     
  17. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    Yes I gave root permission to it
     
  18. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    thanks js red amoco golono
     

Share This Page

Loading...