1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root stock recovery and rom manager

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ccsoccer03, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. ccsoccer03

    ccsoccer03 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    248
    36
    43
    For the life of me, I can't seem to flash the stock recovery using my phone. I've used terminal, rebooted in recovery and tried to flash zip. Nothing works, just using my phone. I see a flash alternate recovery option in rom manager but idk how to activate it? Help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. savoxis

    savoxis Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    812
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    812
    708
    163
    ODOT Field Services Tech
    Pacific NW
    Download flash_image, unzip place on sdcard, place recovery image on sdcard
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. / # mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system  
    3. / # cat /sdcard/flash_image > /system/bin/flash_image  
    4. / # chmod 755 /system/bin/flash_image  
    5. / # mount -o remount,ro -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system  
    6. / # flash_image recovery /sdcard/NAMEOFIMAGE.img  
    7.  / # reboot
    8.  
    replace NAMEOFIMAGE with the name of the image ofcourse, and if you get an out of memory error run flash_image again. YOU NEED TO DO THIS FROM A TERMINAL WITH ROOT, it can be a terminal on the phone, or adb
     
  3. skater95

    skater95 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    339
    47
    43
    Sophomore in high school
    In a house, by a street
    I have a guide on it
     
  4. ccsoccer03

    ccsoccer03 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    248
    36
    43
    The first command always spits out " Usage: mount [-r] [-w] ... and so on, like I didn't type it right, but I've done it so many times and double checked.
     
  5. skater95

    skater95 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    339
    47
    43
    Sophomore in high school
    In a house, by a street
    Look at mine..
     
  6. ccsoccer03

    ccsoccer03 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    248
    36
    43
    Yourxs is the same thing with adb in front of it. I'm haveing an issue using the mount command
     
  7. skater95

    skater95 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    339
    47
    43
    Sophomore in high school
    In a house, by a street
    Is your sdcard mounted or un-mounted?
     
  8. ccsoccer03

    ccsoccer03 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    248
    36
    43
    Alright maybe I haven't explained myself well enough. What I'm wanting to do is to be able to flash the recovery image without the assistance of a computer( aka terminal emulator, rom manager, or through the use of the clockwork recovery.) I know how to flash through a computer, and its super easy, but the ability to "1 click flash" back and forth between recoveries would be nice for ota's
     
  9. skater95

    skater95 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    339
    47
    43
    Sophomore in high school
    In a house, by a street
    Oh... I don't think you can do that...
     
  10. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    Might try ally RR but rename the stock image to the one Ally RR uses
     
  11. darkxsun

    darkxsun Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    That mount command is correct. Double check your typing.
     
  12. ccsoccer03

    ccsoccer03 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    248
    36
    43
    I did it fine when I got home and used the computer. The whole point of this post was to see if there was an easier way to do it "phone only"
     
  13. darkxsun

    darkxsun Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Exactly what was suggested should have worked. I believe I've done it from the terminal emulator. Anyway, glad you got it working.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...