1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Stock ringtones

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by starstress, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. starstress

    starstress Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Have you ever set ringtones for every contact in your phone only to one day restart your phone and boom. Everythings back to default? What a pain. Here's my question. Where is the folder for the stock ringtones. My thinking is if I put my tones with those they'll stick even though they're already on internal sd card not external but anyway any help is appreciated
     

    Advertisement

    44Soulja likes this.
  2. starstress

    starstress Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Anything guys and girls?
     
  3. travioso

    travioso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    943
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    943
    179
    93
    Ocala, FL
    /system/media/audio/ringtones

    They are all in .ogg format.. there is also a /notification folder under audio also..
     
    starstress likes this.
  4. h4x0rj3ff

    h4x0rj3ff Chemist
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,565
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    2,565
    874
    323
    Male
    Prototype Precision Machinist
    Tri-Cities, Michigan
    when you restart your phone your sd cards (internal and external) dont mount right away so your ringtone drop back to default. i cant stand this so i used audacity to convert all my ringtones to .ogg format and drop them in /system/media/audio/

    ringtones folder is for ringtones (oviously) as well as notifications, alarms, and poweron and ui sounds are in there too but i wouldnt mess with them unless you know the consequences.
     
  5. 44Soulja

    44Soulja Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013

    Jan 9, 2013
    10
    0
    15
    Male
    Builder
    Dade County tre05
    i put my Mp3's in the root ringtone folder & deleted all the stock..they were working for a while now theonly the stock shows up in the context menu under sound even tho there deleted. My mp3 don't show now..any offers how to fix this unbacked up the stock ringtones on my PC
     
  6. h4x0rj3ff

    h4x0rj3ff Chemist
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,565
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    2,565
    874
    323
    Male
    Prototype Precision Machinist
    Tri-Cities, Michigan
    if you add ringtones to your system they NEED to be in .ogg format
     
    44Soulja likes this.
  7. cocokasper

    cocokasper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    May 13, 2012

    May 13, 2012
    144
    24
    38
    Automotive, computer, & electrical Tech
    Bay Area CA
    yes it pisses me off... sometimes after a boot, my notification and ringtones are stock... although I don't set custom tones for everyone. but when my phone rings and I hear the stock ringer, I go to change it back, and then the custom tone (I use android crime syndicates ACStestRinger.oog) is not even there... if I reboot it works fine... I think it's because my custom tones are stored on the SD, if I force a media scan it loads custom tones just fine. `
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...