• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Stock ROM backup - How to? PLEASE HELP!

acl298

Lurker
Aug 25, 2014
I have droid razr hd with most up to date version of kitkat. My ultimate goal is to reactivate tethering on my phone. I am trying to accomplish this goal via unlocking bootloader and rooting my phone. I found instructions for this on andromods mods website via towel root. However, my issue is performing the initial back up the instructions recommend prior to doing so. I've never done this before so step-by-step instructions for the initial back up or all of it would be very helpful. Any advice is appreciated. Thank you

Hello and welcome to the forums . I see you looking to root just follow this and you will be rooted with the towel root

DROID RAZR HD / MAXX HD official KitKat root and unlock bootloader | AndroMods

I already said i found those instructions to root. However, it says I need to back up my phone prior to following those instruction, and that is what I am asking help to do. I don't how to do it, and would like step-by-step instructions before i try to root my phone.

Upvote 0
Can I ask what app are you talking about. And are you seeking help or telling everyone of a new way to make a backup . I have a Verizon and have the twrp as my recovery . I didn't use the titanium cause the apps your Backing up . it show and tell you to just do a fresh start . when I say fresh start with the RSD you take the stock ROM and flash to the device . so now what app are you speaking of . the only other app would be safestrap . now which app are you speaking of and what software version are you on

Upvote 0
This video actually didn't help me at all. It didn't tell me which app I needed to download to perform the back-up. do I have to root my phone before I can even attempt a back-up? If so, then why does it tell me to back up my phone before I attempt to root my phone?