1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Stock ROM update?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stridermt2k, Jul 20, 2013.

  1. stridermt2k

    stridermt2k Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012

    Jul 4, 2012
    418
    43
    63
    Male
    Quality Control Technician
    Southern NJ
    Has anyone else seen a system update come down the line for the stock ROM?

    I got one last night, but it looks like being rooted spoiled it and now I don't see it. The system says it's up to date.

    My wife's tablet is the same version ROM, but hers hasn't seen the update.
     

    Advertisement

  2. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  3. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Just got the update. I tried the GOOGLE SERVICES FRAMEWORK trick after waiting over two weeks for it. Cleared data/force stopped the GOOGLE SERVICES FRAMEWORK app, wiped the cache partition in RECOVERY, re-booted.

    Upon the first check @ SETTINGS > ABOUT TABLET > SYSTEM UPDATES, the update was available.
     
    nccruz likes this.
  4. guzelimian

    guzelimian Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    It was driving me nuts waiting for an update that never showed up. Your trick worked as you described.

    Kind of hoping for Jelly Bean 4.3 next, that might be wishful thinking, we'll see.

    thanks again.
     
  5. nailzer

    nailzer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #160
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    492
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    492
    81
    73
    Machinist
    Central Florida
    Did you do that with or without root?
     
  6. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    W/O ROOT, totally stock with a few of the bloatware apps removed. I was surprised it worked w/the bloat removed, but, I guess since root wasn't required to uninstall the bloat, it had no effect on having the update pushed to my tablet.
     
    nailzer likes this.
  7. syzmic

    syzmic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013

    Jul 28, 2013
    108
    272
    88
    Male
    I got my update notice yesterday. Installed it without a hitch, then noticed that my battery life went to hell. That's when I noticed that Google Currents was included as part of the OS. Went into the settings and disabled the "background sync." That seems to have solved the problem. (I had that same problem with Currents on my Nexus 7.)
     
  8. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Love CURRENTS, except for the fatal flaw (battery eater from HELL)!

    My SERO 7 PRO was dead to the world for the first time this morning, need to kill sync/updating on it.

    You'd think GOOGLE would have this figured out by now.
     
  9. nccruz

    nccruz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    did this too and got the update...
     
  10. pa_cap

    pa_cap Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013

    Aug 3, 2013
    83
    21
    18
    I did just did this, as well re: no background sync. Thanks to the OP. Also, I did one other thing. I rooted (thanks, Xboxexpert!) And was using the trial version of FolderMount to move data from high data users. It woudn't work on Currents since it was a system installed app. So I removed it, reinstalled from Play Store, and then was able to 'pair' it.

    As I just received my 64 GB card, will be looking into info to better ways to
    move data/apps than FolderMount to control internal flash mem use. Clean Sweep helps.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  11. nailzer

    nailzer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #160
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    492
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    492
    81
    73
    Machinist
    Central Florida
    New update today. Build Number P756.6.02.20.00, 1.7 megs. Breaks root, but re-roots with original program.

    No idea what's new.
     
  12. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA

    Did u just get that today? I got that update over 2 weeks ago. I guess it takes time to get it out to everyone lol
     
  13. pa_cap

    pa_cap Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013

    Aug 3, 2013
    83
    21
    18
    I got it 2x but t woudn't install or 'break root'. I'm using xboxexpert method, You?
     
  14. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA

    I'm stock for now. Hoping that rumored 4.3 update from Hisense comes thru.
     
  15. xman95

    xman95 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    434
    144
    68
    I got the update as well, but I wouldn't click on install b/c I just rooted the thing, and my guess is that it would unroot it.

    But as per the message it says it was an update to existing apps??
    I've been searching the web hoping someone has figured out what has changed. The SERO support page doesn't provide anything.
     
  16. SpikedKoolaid

    SpikedKoolaid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013

    Sep 2, 2013
    11
    0
    35
    Male
    I too got the update around 09/17, the only thing that was noticable to me was that it wiped out the music player which I had gotten used to, and the only changes were looks, different colors, re-arranged the previous dialogs/screens; which I must admit annoyed me greatly.

    I'm not that impressed with the factory music player but when I get accustomed to something, I don't apprciate "eye candy" changes. Luckily, I stumbled across the ability to uninstall the new player and revert to the previous version.

    I hope to get time one day and find a really good third party player.

    -Dave
     

Share This Page

Loading...