1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Stock RUU for desire Tmobile uk?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mickmartin16, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. mickmartin16

    mickmartin16 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    16
    1
    36
    Scotland,Uk
    Tried a few different stock ruu's to unroot my phone but the all give the same signature error at the end of the process.

    Looking for one that'l work as my phones heading back to tmobile for repair. I'm currently running bootloader 0.93.

    Thanks
    Mick
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,070
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,070
    15,324
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
  3. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,070
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,070
    15,324
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Also, I'm not an RUU expert, but it might be worth posting a description of the precise problem here, as someone might have some suggestions.

    One other random thought: do you have an old nandroid (say from before the problem stated)? If so, and if you could get into recovery long enough to restore that, it should rule out a software problem.

    Though if you can get the RUU to run that will also rule out software if the problem is still there.
     
  4. mickmartin16

    mickmartin16 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    16
    1
    36
    Scotland,Uk
    Thanks for the help again mate, Unfortunately it has to be the "PB99IMG" as I cant get into htc sync to work on Gingervillain for some reason. I tried updating to gingervillain 2.8 and still no joy with the screen error so i'm thinking it may be hardware failure.

    I also sourcing the "PB99IMG.zip" earlier and running it from the hboot with no joy at all. I also tried running "RUU_Bravo_Froyo_TMO_UK_2.12.110.4_R_Radio_32.49.00 .32U_5.11.05.27_release_157560_signed.zip" for hboot aswell.

    One month left until my upgrade and my desire chucks it!
     
  5. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,070
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,070
    15,324
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You won't be able to run HTC Sync on a non-Sense ROM. However, there's another way of running the RUU: boot into the bootloader, select fastboot from the menu, and connect to the computer. The words "fastboot usb" should appear on the hboot screen, and you should be able to run the RUU then.

    Edit: though to be fair the PB99IMG should also work. Make sure the phone is well charged before trying it.
     
    mickmartin16 likes this.
  6. mickmartin16

    mickmartin16 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    16
    1
    36
    Scotland,Uk
    ERROR[140]: BOOTLOADER VERSION ERROR

    Ive been getting this same error,Ive tried returning to my original gold card I used but still no luck.

    Appreciate your time mate,I'm probs missing something very obvious here so bare with me lol.

    I'm currently running image version 2.29.405.2 if thats any help?
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,070
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,070
    15,324
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    What is your current bootloader version (from the hboot screen)?
     
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    you debranded your phone to a higher version than the tmobile RUU thats why you are having a problem
    Run the Gingerbread RUU (this should still be supported for warranty)
    or
    you will need to use a gold card and use teppics downgrade utility to downgrade the rom to a slcd 2.1 rom then run the tmobile pb99img to flash back to the tmob build


    we dont know why htc doesnt allow downgrading but this is the only way you will get it to a tmobile build
     
  9. Jon_LTD

    Jon_LTD Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    786
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    786
    84
    98
    Male
    Uk
    Does this include resetting the hboot back?
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Do you mean, does an RUU reset the hboot to stock? Yes it does, however the new alpharev hboots (so assume this includes the revolutionary ones too) have write protection so the RUU cannot overwrite.

    This means you have to flash the alpharev downgrader hboot first.
     
  11. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    his hboot is 0.93 so it shouldnt be protected
    dont know if hes s-off tho
     
  12. Jon_LTD

    Jon_LTD Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    786
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    786
    84
    98
    Male
    Uk
    Ah. So should one have to send his Desire back for warranty purposes, he won't be able to simple run the official Gingerbread RUU?
    So you will have to flash the alpharev downgrader first then run the ruu? Also, after flashing the downgrader, can you just turn your phone back on and use whichever custom ROM you have installed?

    It's a steep learning curve that's for sure..
     
  13. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    yes
     
  14. Jon_LTD

    Jon_LTD Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    786
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    786
    84
    98
    Male
    Uk
    Ah ok,

    If that's the case, can I install an official Sense ROM without having to downgrade my hboot? I.e. I want to go back to official Froyo (debranded) and retain my Root access. Is there anyway I can do this? My hboot is 6.93.1002

    Sorry if I keep running in circles.
     
  15. mickmartin16

    mickmartin16 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    16
    1
    36
    Scotland,Uk
    Cant thank you guy's enought, After 2 days of torment I finally got it back to a stock rom 2.3 gingerbread from HTCdev - HTC Kernel Source Code and Binaries.

    Unfortunatley its not solved my screen issue, My phone's booting up ok now but as soon as the screen time's out or you lock it there's no comeback it doesn't switch back on. I'll head into tmobile tomorrow and see if they'll sort it as i guess its hardware failure, Possibly something to do with the connection as the buttons still light up but no screen.

    As said above thanks for your time folks,I'll get back to this topic and let you all know the diagnosis and fix.

    Much appreciated
    Mick
     
  16. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    youre running 6.93. that is protected (a good thing), you can flash RUU as long as this custom hboot you have is standard partition sizes (not cm7 tables etc) you can the flash recovery and flash the super user zip found on the revolutionary site
     
  17. Jon_LTD

    Jon_LTD Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    786
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    786
    84
    98
    Male
    Uk
    youre running 6.93. that is protected (a good thing), you can flash RUU as long as this custom hboot you have is standard partition sizes (not cm7 tables etc) you can the flash recovery and flash the super user zip found on the revolutionary site

    Rasta, you (and all the other regs who help us learners out) are worth your weight in gold.

    Is there anyway in determining if I have a standard partition size for my hboot?

    Also, to ensure I have my head around this, is this the order you are proposing?

    -Download RUU
    -Install/Run RUU (as HTC gave instruction to install 2.3.3 Gingerbread official release)
    -I should then have STOCK 2.3.3 installed, unrooted with hboot back to my original?

    I'm struggling to get my head around the hboot function.

    Many thanks!
    -
     
  18. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    if your hboot doesnt have the table name at the top (in the pink writing) then its standard layout.

    -Download RUU
    -Install/Run RUU (as HTC gave instruction to install 2.3.3 Gingerbread official release)
    you then have STOCK 2.3.3 installed, unrooted with custom revolutionary/alpharev protected hboot and NOT original
    you would have stock recovery though.
    you would have to use the hboot downgrader from alpharev to return the hboot to stock.

    why would you want to do this though?
    teppic76 already has built a standard 2.3.3 rooted rom that is completely based on the htc dev one
     
  19. Jon_LTD

    Jon_LTD Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    786
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    786
    84
    98
    Male
    Uk
    You're right, I don't need to do this and I intend to use Teppic's build.

    This is just in case I need to send it back for warranty purposes etc and learning all the in's and out's of rooting.

    You guys are feeding me my hunger for knowledge.
     
  20. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    if you needed to send it back you can just flash the dev build 2.3.3 as its supported
     
  21. Jon_LTD

    Jon_LTD Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    786
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    786
    84
    98
    Male
    Uk
    So the hboot will not be breaching my warranty? Why is this if I may ask? It seems to me if I'm adjusting some of the core features, my warranty should be void?
     
  22. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,070
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,070
    15,324
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Yes, the hboot would definately void your warranty. So for warranty return you need to flash the "downgrader" hboot first, so that the RUU can replace that (this is in Rasta's previous post, but I understand that there's a lot of unfamiliar stuff here).
     
  23. Jon_LTD

    Jon_LTD Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    786
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    786
    84
    98
    Male
    Uk
    Oh I see.

    After going back through the thread and reading it again I fully understand it all. You're right, its all new ground for me but I like to think I'm getting the hang of the basics.

    Thank you both for clearing that up. I now know how to unroot my phone should I ever need to...

    ... Touch wood I never need to!
     
  24. rajbal

    rajbal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    28
    5
    16
    Consultant
    Bangalore
    Hi,
    I have been going through as many threads/posts to gain knowledge to root my Desire and et al. I am in India and my phone is not branded with any carrier.
    While I was going through the list of shipped roms list I could not exactly find the match for my build number, though there are 4 matches for the baseband version.
    When I had bought it was shipped with 2.1 and later received OTA for 2.2

    My Desire spec shows
    - Baseband version - 32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30_2
    - Build Number - 2.13.720.2 CL274424 release_keys

    Could you pls suggest which would be the correct one I can download?
    The one I find for INDIA, I think that one is 2.1 version. (if I remember SUroot's explanation on naming in someplace)

    RUU_Bravo_Froyo_HTC_WWE_2.10.405.2_R_Radio_32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30_2_release_142828_signed.exe

    RUU_Bravo_Froyo_hTC_Asia_WWE_2.13.707.1_Radio_32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30_2_release_143921_signed.exe

    RUU_Bravo_hTC_Asia_India_1.21.720.4_Radio_32.36.00.28U_4.06.00.02_2_release_127705_signed.exe


    Thank you
     
  25. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    you are branded htc india unfortunately.
    its not the same is the EU WWE roms
    the only thing you might be able to do is flash the gingerbread dev rom but i dont know if it works with those builds as they may not be included in the update file.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...