1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Stop buttons from turning on the Droid?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by merrill77, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. merrill77

    merrill77 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009

    Jan 16, 2009
    45
    4
    16
    I can't seem to avoid pressing the volume/camera buttons as I'm taking the Droid out of my pants or jacket pockets. Has anyone found a way to disable this behavior?

    TIA!
    Chris
     

    Advertisement

  2. Droidian

    Droidian Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    11
    0
    15
    school
    New Albany, Indiana
    if you lock it then it shouldn't do anything unless you hit the top button. also if you put the pass string thing on then it won't do anything until you put that string in.
     
  3. merrill77

    merrill77 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009

    Jan 16, 2009
    45
    4
    16
    Thanks - since I enabled the lock, no more accidental power-ons.
     
  4. radef

    radef Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    We're all new to this so I don't feel too dumb asking (although about half dumb)...

    What do you mean by locking the screen? I'm asking because I find it highly annoying that I have to press the power button, then do a swipe from left to right to be able to do anything on the phone. I find it redundant to have to do both. Sounds like maybe one of these steps is the "lock" and I might be able to disable it.

    Any help?
    Thanks!
     
  5. AbeFrohman

    AbeFrohman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    18
    1
    16
    I'm with you on the lock screen thing. I just want to be able to press the top button to "unlock" or 'wake up" the phone. NOT BOTH!!
     
  6. RossLH

    RossLH Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    36
    2
    36
    MD/MI/NC
    Every phone I've ever had has required either a button combination or opening the phone in order to unlock it. Just hitting a single button to unlock it would inevitably cause unintended unlocking. I could see if you wanted the phone to unlock upon opening it, but I can just see the single button press to unlock causing a huge annoyance.
     
  7. AbeFrohman

    AbeFrohman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    18
    1
    16
    SCREEN MODE WIDGET.

    Use "awake stay" mode and all you need to press is the power button on top to wake the phone. NO MORE SLIDER!!
     
  8. droidjim

    droidjim Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    9
    3
    6
    How do you enable/disable the lock?
     
  9. AbeFrohman

    AbeFrohman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    18
    1
    16
    When you have it on "awake stay" mode, with the screen mode widget, just use the top button, volume rocker, or camera button to "wake" the phone and the top button to "put it to sleep".
     
  10. jessej09

    jessej09 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009

    Thanks Abe! This is just what the doctor ordered. Though I will say that it took me a moment to realize that you were saying to download an application from the Android Market. I just did and viola my frustration dropped.
     
  11. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
    Yeah, this widget is great. I have been emailing the dev today with some tips and a little problem I had. He's very responsive.

    My suggestions to him were:

    1. Make it an app not a widget so its hidden.
    2. Disable the volume and camera keys so that ONLY the top button wakes it up.
    3. Include a password option for those who want some security.
     
  12. svtpickemup

    svtpickemup Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    19
    0
    15
    1. It doesn't bother me being a widget because it gives me access to it quickly.
    2. HELL FREAKING YEAH...that's my only complaint.
    3. Why not? Someone may need it....

    But 2 is my biggest gripe. I'd even pay for this widget.

    You say he's been responsive. Any idea when an update may come?
     
  13. carlt4

    carlt4 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    It looks like he updated it recently to fix the freeze up.

    I'd like to see the camera/volume buttons be disabled as well. Perhaps make that configurable. I like the way I don't have to fumble around for the little power button, and just hit the bigger buttons, but this is a drawback for when it's in my pocket.

    Is there a way to disable the volume/camera buttons globally?
     
  14. mkreitz

    mkreitz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    I second the request to disable the volume and camera buttons. Love the app as a widget and use it all the time when in the car especially. I am not a fan of fumbling around with buttons/swipes/etc while driving and this app was exactly what I needed.
     
  15. gsontag

    gsontag Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    I like being able to use the camera button, but the volume button is a problem. when i press the volume button to wake it up i usually end up turning the volume up which actually negates having the phone on silent!
     
  16. beadlam

    beadlam Newbie
    Rank:
     #1,559
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    I agree with the problem with the volume and camera buttons - would love to be able to turn those off and only use the top button. I'm always hitting the volume button and never know what my volume is going to be unless I hit it again to get it back where I want it. Would love an update for this!
     

Share This Page

Loading...