1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Stop hiding X button.

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Grrrrrrrrr, Feb 3, 2016.

1. Grrrrrrrrr

Grrrrrrrrr Newbie

I recently purchased a Shield Tablet. This is my first time using a "Mobile OS".

There is one thing about the OS (android 6.o) I find extremely irritating.

I have to wait for the damn X (close window) button to fade in. Someone had to include extra code to hide the button that uses cpu cycles to make it wait x seconds before fading into view.

Is there a way to change this behavior?

PS I have no problems with hacking into the OS and editing hidden system files if that's what is required.

2. Best Answer:
    Post #7 by Brian706, Feb 3, 2016 (1 points)

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

3. Mikestony

Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    VIP Member

Hello!
    What browser are you using? The stock browser?
    I was assuming you speak of the internet on your tablet :)

4. Grrrrrrrrr

Grrrrrrrrr Newbie

No, I am talking about every single window.

[​IMG]

mikedt and Mikestony like this.
  5. Brian706

Brian706 I like turtles!

For a simple work around, try just editing your animation settings in developer options. Marshmallow is very animation heavy and while it's pretty, I found it to be a bit too delayed for my taste on my Nexus 6 so I shortened all of the animations to .5x and it feels snappier.

To enable developer options go to settings > about tablet tap on build number 7 times and it will enable developer options in your settings menu.

Then go into settings > developer options and scroll down into the drawing section and try reducing the animation scales.

Mikestony likes this.
  6. Grrrrrrrrr

Grrrrrrrrr Newbie

Brian,

I turned off "Window Animation Scale", "Transition Animation Scale", and "Animator Transition Scale" and the windows display instantly, this I like but, the X still takes 2 seconds to appear, and it fades in when it does so.