1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Stop showing apps when press home key to unlock phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hendrikbez, Jul 11, 2013.

  1. hendrikbez

    hendrikbez Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,587
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011

    Apr 14, 2011
    37
    2
    16
    When I press home key to unlock my S4, it then show recent apps that I used before, and the it goes to unlock or just open. How can I make it that it does not show the recent apps I were using before, when I press home button
     

    Advertisement

  2. Roll-Tide

    Roll-Tide Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    272
    26
    43
    I've never heard of that. Are you using a 3rd party launcher?
     
  3. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,497
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,497
    691
    243
    are you pressing and holding your home button? or just a quick press/release?

    Press and hold is supposed to bring up recent apps
     
  4. Roll-Tide

    Roll-Tide Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    272
    26
    43
    But from the lock screen?
     
  5. Asphaltcowboy

    Asphaltcowboy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    30
    2
    16
    Male
    Ohio
    If you hold the home button down for more than a split second, it will pull up all your previously viewed apps with the option to clear them or go to the task manager. If you tap the home button quickly, it will just take you back to the home screen.
     
  6. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,497
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,497
    691
    243
    On pin/password protected phones, you are right - it shouldn't. But from the op's post, it almost sounds like there is no pin/password. I don't know how the S4 behaves without a pin/password. I can try later today to see
     
  7. Roll-Tide

    Roll-Tide Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    272
    26
    43
    Again, if I understand the op correctly he's talking about from the unlock screen.... Not from the home screen
     
  8. Roll-Tide

    Roll-Tide Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    272
    26
    43
    It does absolutely nothing if you hold down the home button on the lock screen...
     
  9. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,497
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,497
    691
    243
    Thanks

    @op - are you on a custom ROM? As Roll-Tide said, that shouldn't happen from the lock screen.
     
  10. hendrikbez

    hendrikbez Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,587
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011

    Apr 14, 2011
    37
    2
    16
    Hi

    Yes I am on the 4.22 normal galaxy S4 frimware (Rom). I am usring go Locker to lock phone, when I lock the phone, and want to press home button to unlock phone (just press it for less than a second) it brings up the recent apps.
     
  11. Roll-Tide

    Roll-Tide Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    272
    26
    43
    Sounds like something with go locker then and not the phone
     
  12. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Agreed, try disabling or uninstalling Go Locker to see if the problem goes away.
    I'm on a custom ROM with a 3rd party browser and it doesn't work that way for me either, and I'm reasonably sure I never saw that on the stock ROM.
     
  13. CAdams

    CAdams Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014

    Jan 24, 2014
    10
    0
    15
    I have a problem like that but no matter what I'm doing if I want to hit the home button to go to my home screen it always pulls up my recent apps and I'm not holding the home button either.
     

Share This Page

Loading...