1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Straight talk sim switch. Please help.

Discussion in 'Straight Talk' started by Soccer24, Jul 24, 2013.

  1. Soccer24

    Soccer24 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013

    Jul 24, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    So I've decided to try this forum, as straight forum is extremely unhelpful. Anyways, I purchased a straight talk galaxy s2 (not BYOP) and I'm planning on purchasing an unlocked HTC one. My question is if I can just trim down the sim from my s2, and put it in the HTC one.


    Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,445
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,445
    2,754
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Yes, it will work.
     
    Soccer24 likes this.
  3. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    As mentioned it will work, however your better off buying a sim cutter I believe amazon has it for a few dollars.
    Or go to a local cell place that deals with sim cards.

    The reason for this is if you cut by hand you may not get it good enough to put the contact patch in the correct location and then your sim needs to be replaced.
     
  4. DjDav3y

    DjDav3y Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    I'm a new user and can't post my own thread right now.
    I'm currently using a Boost Mobile flashed Sprint branded S2 Epic. I need to know if there is a way i can test it's coverage and compatibility on the straight talk networks.
    Any help is greatly appreciated.
     
  5. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Straight Talk doesn't support BYOP for CDMA devices. If you buy a phone they sell, it will most likely run on Sprint's network. However there are a couple of phones that do run on Verizon's network for sale as well. If you want to bring you own phone, it must be a gsm device and the only sim they will sell you is a T-Mobile sim. You can possibly find unactivated Straight Talk AT&T sims online at ebay or amazon, but they're selling for a heavy price because they have been discontinued.
     
  6. DjDav3y

    DjDav3y Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Oh ok. I was just confused then i guess, because the website says that they can do some CDMA devices.
    But when i click on the link to see if my phone is compatible it tells me to buy and activate a network access code, but i don't want to have to buy something just to see if my phone will work on their networks.
     
  7. oldnoob2

    oldnoob2 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    76
    10
    18
    Miami, FL
    They do have a cdma byop program, but it's very restricted. Only Verizon postpaid 3g phones. No prepaid or 4g phones, and there are many posts about problems with the program.
     

Share This Page

Loading...