1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Strange anomalies after OTA? Solution: HARD RESET

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by freeza, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. freeza

    freeza Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    554
    168
    93
    Computer Tech!
    Pasadena, California
    I have noticed almost a million (for real!) threads today alone on problems with the Froyo OTA update. Here is a simple but powerful method to eliminate most, if not all of them.

    I compare OTA updates to upgrading Windows versions. It is always better to do a clean install aka a hard reset because upgrading can only lead to problems that you will undoubtedly blame on the OS/company/product rather than the actual upgrade.

    If any of you have strange issues that don't seem to be very widespread, or even if they are widespread, hard resetting is always the key ingredient in figuring out if your problem is indeed a software bug or a strange upgrading anomaly.

    How do you hard reset? One of two(maybe three) ways.

    Unrooted users may utilize the bootloader/android approach.

    Android: Settings>Privacy>Factory data reset
    Bootloader: hold the volume-down key while pressing power (after unit is powered off) until the white bootloader appears. From here you may choose to do a factory reset.

    Rooted users may utilize both the options above as well as the wiping method in your Recovery of choice.

    NOTE: Always make a backup before hard resetting as this will erase all your data. microSD cards are unaffected by hard resetting.

    Unrooted backup of choice: MyBackup or MyBackupPro. MyBackup has a 30 day trial period, this is good for those who don't think they will need to use the backup more than a few times. However, I highly suggest buying the Pro version, as you never know when you will need it, and it is always good to have a backup program anyway.

    Rooted backup of choice: Titanium Backup/nandroid backup.

    nandroid backups and restores are available in Recovery.

    If an AF/Google/XDA search yields no results, I would continue on to this method. Once you have completed this step, and the problem persists, then a thread should be made. It will help cut down on the clutter in the forums as well as help isolate real issues instead of creating tons of threads on issues that aren't really issues.

    Lesson complete.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Zameus

    Zameus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    143
    17
    38
    Good stuff freeza. This should be "stickied".

    I'm going to do just this when I upgrade to froyo. Backup, hard reset, and update. Then I will go through my list of apps that I backed up and install them individually to avoid such anomolies going on. Just like you said, treat it as a Windows OS update. ;P
     
    freeza likes this.
  3. freeza

    freeza Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    554
    168
    93
    Computer Tech!
    Pasadena, California
    I think if everyone read and followed this, the issues topics created would be cut by 85% or more!
     
  4. grindstoneslave

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    65
    6
    16
    Self-Employed
    Indy
    Agreed.
     
  5. Zameus

    Zameus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    143
    17
    38

    oh yeah...
     
  6. Reddawg

    Reddawg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    39
    2
    36
    In the process of doing this right now. Just bought MyBackup Pro and backing everything up to the microSD card. Hopefully this will take care of my 15% drop in 15 minutes problem on the battery as well!
     
  7. paradox183

    paradox183 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    104
    12
    58
    Austin, TX
    I had to do a hard reset after updating my EVO. Everything worked great until this afternoon, when my phone randomly rebooted itself and then the camera and camcorder didn't work. Called HTC and, after some troubleshooting, they had me run the hard reset. Now everything works again.

    Kinda sucks, but (to follow your comparison) as a Windows guy that religiously reformats his computer every year or so, I can understand the reasoning. That said, however, I can understand the hesitation of users who don't want to go through the hassle of the hard reset if there may be a less intrusive fix available.
     
  8. freeza

    freeza Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    554
    168
    93
    Computer Tech!
    Pasadena, California
    Definitely. That's why I suggest research before making threads. The answer could be very simple.
     
  9. heavychevy

    heavychevy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    774
    162
    93
    I was about halfway through starting a Froyo troubleshooting thread then I realized I didn't feel like gathering all the info so I aborted.


    I think these points should also be mentioned because they keep getting added over and over again:


    1) Swype may take an uninstall, reinstall to work.
    2) Market(not stock froyo app)LED Flashlight App interferes with camera, uninstall.
    3) May only take a reboot in some cases, hard reset should be last resort.
    4) Early Mon posted a battery life process that seems to be working, can't remember it.
    5) Change Camera Settings to H.264 to see better results from recording.
    6) Web Pages will be slower if flash is always running, change settings to get them fast again.
    7) Not all apps can be moved to SD Card, Developer has to allow permission.
    8) Home pages are not included in the added scrolling feature.
    9) Downloaded Apps may take a while to show up in the Market, be patient.
    10) You may have to manually sync all of your facebook contacts with google ones.


    Feel free to add more.
     
  10. audleon

    audleon Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    2
    16
    I've looked for the non-rooted version of Titanium Backup, but can't find it...

    All I find is the version stating that the phone needs to be rooted. Do I need to go to a specific place the find the non-rooted version?

    Thanks for the help,

    audleon ;)
     
  11. paradox183

    paradox183 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    104
    12
    58
    Austin, TX
    I must have punched in 10 different search terms looking for a thread for my problem and didn't find one. So I called HTC support and they had me do the hard reset. Now come to find out that I could've avoided the hard reset by uninstalling one stupid widget.

    "Search the forums" is great advice for 1) a forum with a good search engine, and 2) a forum that doesn't go 90 miles a minute. This forum is neither of these.
     
  12. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    freeza likes this.
  13. freeza

    freeza Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    554
    168
    93
    Computer Tech!
    Pasadena, California
  14. I want my EVO

    I want my EVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    122
    25
    43
    Software Engineer/ Data Analyst
    Buffalo, NY
    I think Titanium back up is only for Root users. If you want a non rooted backup program try using MyBackUp Pro. 5 Bucks in the market and well worth every penny.
     
    audleon likes this.
  15. freeza

    freeza Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    554
    168
    93
    Computer Tech!
    Pasadena, California

    Yes, this is true. I have updated the first post accordingly. For some reason I forgot Titanium required root. However, MyBackup seems to be the recommended non-root backup. It also includes a trial, great for people who don't want to spend the extra money, or who don't think they will utilize the backup more than a few times. Lots of people just want their phone to work properly without spending any extra money and this is a fantastic option.
     
  16. I want my EVO

    I want my EVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    122
    25
    43
    Software Engineer/ Data Analyst
    Buffalo, NY
    I wasnt able to find it when i searched for it last week. Thats why i bought the pro version. But i do agree that if available to get the trial if you only going to use it this one time.

    I just searched for it and it is on there and Free for 30 days. Also, You need to search for the full name "Mybackup" and it will come up. If you look for "Myback" for instance it will come up with no results.

    Just a tip is that it seems you need to be very specific when it comes to a market search. Its not intuitive at all.
     
  17. S00NR1

    S00NR1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    66
    2
    16
    Assistant Golf Professional
    Norman, OK
    To factory reset via the bootloader do I select "Clear storage"? There isn't an option that says factory reset.
     
  18. jaytv

    jaytv Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Also, if I could point out, under any leaked or unleaked version of HTC 2.2 froyo, the factory data reset is now under Menu>Settings>SD & Phone storage, at the bottom of the selection page.
     
  19. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    And if you're in a real jam - use ASTRO File Manager.

    It won't save contacts nor accounts nor other cool stuff - but in a pinch - it will save all of the user apps.

    Copy out anything in my link you think is useful here, especially recommending the radio update and so forth.

    Anything to get the full message out, folks need to know this stuff.

    My thread was moved to support, yours may similarily destined, btw.

    PS - My advice is same, but 2.2-centric. Note to rooters - Clockwork's cache/data cleanup has been questioned, people are being advised to turn to Amon Ra. Personally - I think just Factory reset is the way to go. It's simple.
     
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Personally, I'd avoid the bootloader.

    I believe freeza's steps are from the 2.1 rom - the 2.2 rom steps are here:

    http://androidforums.com/support-troubleshooting-evo-4g/141369-how-fix-froyo.html

    It's the same advice, just points to where the reset lives now.

    I wrote the same as freeza originally by memory, until somebody said something.
     
  21. xuohtx

    xuohtx Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    20
    13
    18
    I took your advice and did a hard reset. It was a little more work to get everything back to previous settings than I thought it would be but some of the little problems I was having have gone away.

    Thanks
     
  22. freeza

    freeza Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    554
    168
    93
    Computer Tech!
    Pasadena, California
    Fantastic. Testimonials that either following either EarlyMon's or this guide will most definitely alleviate most, if not all issues.
     
  23. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Mods, kindly consider merging this thread with the sticky, thanks, EarlyMon & freeza.
     
  24. GirlGoneGeek

    GirlGoneGeek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    149
    33
    63
    St. Louis, MO
    ^^^
    What he said.
     
  25. whtge8

    whtge8 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    137
    11
    38
    Hard reset didnt do a thing for me except erase all my contacts and home screens. I still have horrible scrolling while on the internet and laggy typing.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...