1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Strange Thin Horizontal White Line

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Interested Now, Mar 22, 2016.

  1. Interested Now

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016

    Mar 22, 2016
    25
    2
    26
    Male
    Hi. Last week a thin white horizontal line appeared on top of my Android smart phone. This thin white line doesn't disappear after factory restore. I remember the last thing I did with this android phone was to download an App called videoder which I got via Google search. Everything is running well in the phone but my consern is how to get rid of this thin white line. Kindly suggest what to do. I'm using android version 4.2.2 kitkat, which is rooted.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,089
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,089
    14,051
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    If the line won't go away and is always there in the same place, then almost certain it's a screen problem, replacement screen required.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    Yep, sounds like a hardware issue.

    If you want to be doubly sure, take a screenshot and if the line isn't in the screenshot, it's a hardware fault.
     
    psionandy and mikedt like this.
  4. Interested Now

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016

    Mar 22, 2016
    25
    2
    26
    Male
    @ El Presidente & mikedt, I at first thought it could be a hardware problem, but I highly doubt because the thin white horizontal line on top of my phone appeared few minutes after downloading the earlier mentioned software from Google play store, moreover this Android phone has never fallen down on floor and got hit on screen by something. @ El Presidente how do I take a screen shot, please give me the procedure.
     
  5. Interested Now

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016

    Mar 22, 2016
    25
    2
    26
    Male
    CORRECTION: I didn't download the software from Google play store, I got it through Google search engine.
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    On most devices, you can take a screenshot by holding power and volume down at the same time.

    The timing of the app download and the issue occurring is almost certainly coincidental and will have nothing to do with the line.
     
  7. Interested Now

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016

    Mar 22, 2016
    25
    2
    26
    Male
    @ El Presidente, Here is the screen shot.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    Yeah, I'm not seeing a line there which tells me it's definitely a hardware issue unfortunately :(.

    Are you still covered under warranty?
     
  9. Interested Now

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016

    Mar 22, 2016
    25
    2
    26
    Male
    No, I am not covered. I decide change the device from this Tecno M3, to Lenovo A1000,
    Do you think it's a better choice?
     
  10. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,089
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,089
    14,051
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Well the Tecno is a phone and the Lenovo A1000 "IdeaTab" is a 7inch tablet isn't it? What do actually need, a phone or a tablet? The Lenovo only has 4GB internal storage apparently, so if you're into apps, might be a problem, and they're both very budget devices.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  11. Interested Now

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016

    Mar 22, 2016
    25
    2
    26
    Male
  12. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,089
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,089
    14,051
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Well Lenovo also runs a heavily modified Chinese made Android. And it's another base-line, very low-specced phone. Have you had a look at say a OnePlus X? It is Chinese, but the Oxygen OS it runs is much more like Android as Google intended. There's Android One devices you could consider as well. Where Android comes straight from Google.
     

Share This Page

Loading...