1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Stuck at white Evo screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Cindy623, May 10, 2011.

  1. Cindy623

    Cindy623 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Last night I tried rooting my husband's Evo using unrEVOked forever and I got through all the steps with no problem, except for the step that required backing it up (of course). Once I got to the last step, the phone rebooted and has stayed on the Evo 4g screen. I've tried browsing this forum to see how I can fix this issue, but I am a total newbie when it comes to this. I don't understand what it is I need to do and don't want to make any more mistakes as it is. I would really appreciate any help. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    Can you get into recovery, try shutting down the phone (pull the battery) then hold down the volume down and power button until a white screen pops up. At the top of the screen does it say s-off or s-on? It may scan for an upgrade just say no to both questions it ask (edit: it may only ask you one or it might not even ask.). After that use the volume keys to navigate to where it says recovery, use the power button to select that option. What is the phone doing now?
     
  3. Cindy623

    Cindy623 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Yes, I'm able to get into recovery. The top line shows s-off. After selecting recovery, it shows the black screen with red exclamation point in the triangle.
     
  4. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    Okay what you need to do is flash a custom recovery. to do this visit this page and download on of the files I suggest Amon_RA 2.3, follow the install instructions on that page. After you are done tell me so we can go to the next step.

    EDIT: Copy and pasted instructions :)

    1) Download the appropriate PC36IMG.zip for whichever recovery image you want.
    2) Rename the file to PC36IMG.zip, exactly, being careful to not rename it to PC36IMG.zip.zip or accidentally unzip the file.
    3) Copy the file to the root of your sdcard (That mean the top level, not in any folders).
    4) Boot into hboot by turning the phone off, then turning it back on while pressing and holding the volume down button.
    5) Flash the file when prompted.
    6) [optional] When done, rename or remove the PC36IMG.zip file, or it will prompt you to flash it again every time you boot back into hboot.

    To copy the file when you are in Hboot it should have an option for USB storage or something like that, you are going to need to plug the phone into the computer then select that option.
     
    Cindy623 likes this.
  5. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Just fyi you were able to get to hboot/bootloader, thats the white screen ;). You were unable to get to recovery, thats where you got the exclamation point. In case you need to discuss in the future :).
     
  6. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    Thanks for the explanation Matt, I forgot to say that.
     
  7. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    eh its just easier to help if they know the right terminology in case they need more help later. That might confuse all of us if they came back calling hboot recovery lol :)
     
  8. Cindy623

    Cindy623 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Thanks. I'm just not sure what page you're referring to that I download it from. Sorry!
     
  9. Cindy623

    Cindy623 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Thanks lol. Clearly, this is why I need help. :)
     
  10. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    he forgot to actually link it :) hang on...
     
  11. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
  12. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    woops fail on my part lol
     
  13. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    yeah but not epic...we'll forget in 5 minutes :)
     
  14. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    yeah, but if its on the internet its there FOREVER ;)
     
  15. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Lmao every one who comes to this thread will see your ineptitude ;) good point extreme :)... EDIT!
     
  16. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    I could edit my post lol, then y'all would look like you are blind and just didn't see it lol.
     
  17. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    That's like revisionist history lol
     
  18. Cindy623

    Cindy623 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Ok, so now I am stuck at step 3. I have no idea how to get back to my SD card to copy the file into. It looks like it isn't coming up at all.
     
  19. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    Do you have USB storage toggled in hboot? Also just incase we can't get it working do you have an external card reader? it is called Hboot usb, you need to plug the phone into your computer then select that option.
     
  20. Cindy623

    Cindy623 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Yes, it comes up as "HBOOT USB PLUG"

    ETA- No, I don't have an external card reader. I'm using Windows.
     
  21. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    hmm I can't get mine to mount either, does the same thing your is. Do you have an external card reader? Also what kind of PC are you using widows or Mac?
     
  22. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    So you can't boot up and you cant access the sd on the comp from hboot and you don't have a card reader? Can you put the sd in a diff evo and put it on it that way?
     
  23. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    dang it I was about to suggest that but you beat me to it.
     
  24. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    I suppose any phone with a micro sd could act as a reader not just an evo
     
  25. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    As long as you can mount it, it should work. Just switch the cards out and plug it in then move the file, switch cards back.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...