1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Stuck in a boot loop

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ultrasonic, Jan 6, 2014.

  1. Ultrasonic

    Ultrasonic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014

    Jan 6, 2014
    8
    1
    6
    Male
    7-Eleven Assistant Manager
    Colorado Springs
    So my Optimus F3 is rooted and has CWM installed, one would think I would have been smart enough to back it up, right? Well no, I procrastinated until it was too late.

    I saw there was a system update available this morning so I installed it and. . . this happened. I'm afraid to do a factory reset from CWM because, if it's like my Optimus Slider, it may brick the device further. Does anyone have anything that could help me and potentially others?
     

    Advertisement

  2. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    508
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    508
    233
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    Same thing happened to me unfortunately. I had to follow the VM Unbrick method.

    http://androidforums.com/virgin-mobile-optimus-f3-all-things-root/779320-unbrick-vm-sprint-f3.html

    I was having issues getting into download mode, but thankfully Sinner67 provided this valuable information.

    "What you have to do is make sure the drivers are installed, plug the usb cable into the laptop, press on the volume up and volume down buttons and plug the usb cable into your phone. Do not use the power button."

    The guidance worked perfectly and allowed me to follow the unbrick method without issues.
     
  3. loonycgb2

    loonycgb2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    407
    302
    108
    Male
    CNC Machinist
    Houston, TX
    Use my stock rom if you are on virgin or sprint and flash it without wiping so you dont lose data.
     
  4. Ultrasonic

    Ultrasonic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014

    Jan 6, 2014
    8
    1
    6
    Male
    7-Eleven Assistant Manager
    Colorado Springs
    Thanks. I just got off work and I'm gonna give these methods a shot. Hopefully at least one works.
     
  5. Ultrasonic

    Ultrasonic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014

    Jan 6, 2014
    8
    1
    6
    Male
    7-Eleven Assistant Manager
    Colorado Springs
    Well I just got it unbricked but it's stuck on a "Chameleon" network. Is there an easy way to get it back on VM?
     
  6. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    508
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    508
    233
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    Did you unbrick using the VM method? The VM method should not have altered your network.
     
  7. Ultrasonic

    Ultrasonic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014

    Jan 6, 2014
    8
    1
    6
    Male
    7-Eleven Assistant Manager
    Colorado Springs
    I did and I just retried it to make sure and there was no difference. After a little digging around I found out it was my own fault, I changed my active phone with VM so I changed it back to the F3 and it worked just fine. Hopefully I'm the only one that needed to figure that out.
     
  8. nyktovus

    nyktovus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    68
    1
    16
    sys update caused clockword mod boot loop!



    yo loony, where can i find your stock rom!? i like the sound of your solution better.
     
  9. nyktovus

    nyktovus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    68
    1
    16
    ok, i am in the cwm.. i wiped the data/factory reset, wiped the cache and installed loonycgb2's rooted rom to NO AVAIL.

    still soft-bricked.
     
  10. Ultrasonic

    Ultrasonic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014

    Jan 6, 2014
    8
    1
    6
    Male
    7-Eleven Assistant Manager
    Colorado Springs
    I used the method that bkttk2 mentioned, I think that's the only thing that'll help you out. It'll erase EVERYTHING and even get rid of CWM and root but it worked.
     
    bkttk2 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...