1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support stuck in boot loop, want to recover files before factory reset - having pull issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by anikplunk, Nov 17, 2014.

  1. anikplunk

    anikplunk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014

    Nov 17, 2014
    3
    0
    25
    Hello! So my phone is stuck in a boot loop, and I want to get some files off it before i do a factory reset. I am having issues with the cmd prompt aspect - any help would be so appreciated!

    About my Samsung S2
    Model # GT-I9100
    Australian
    I am unsure of android version, build number etc as the phone only starts in system recovery <3e>.

    I have been following this wonderful post, and have downloaded SDK Manager, started the phone in system recovery. Unfortunately, my version of sysrecovery doesn't have a Mount & Storage menu item. I only have these options; reboot system now; apply update from ADB; apply update from external storage; Wipe data/factory reset; wipe cache partition; apply update from cache.

    So, I skipped this step, which the post said might be possible, and attempted to pull all data (I don't remember all the file locations of the files I want, so will try and pull them all and go through what i need.

    I attempted to use in cmd prompt the following:


    I fiddled with the syntax, until this seemed to get more of a result:



    BUT, I got the following list scrolling forever on "skipping special file", as seen here

    [​IMG]

    Any ideas on where to go from here?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,477
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,477
    5,709
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    On an un-rooted phone, try wiping the cache partition to get you out of the boot loop...

    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=gIyYHfb1Afg

    If you are also rooted and have a custom recovery, you can wipe the Dalvik cache as well.
     
  3. anikplunk

    anikplunk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014

    Nov 17, 2014
    3
    0
    25

    Gave it a go but no cigar, thanks anyway! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...