1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root stuck in boot loop with droid incredible

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mikot53, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. mikot53

    mikot53 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Here's the problem; I decided I wanted to try out flashing new roms and such so i downloaded clockwork mod, backed everything up on that and titanium backup, saved my current rom, and flashed this custom rom (I think it was called red glass or something). during the reboot, it froze in the middle of the red eye animation and then tried to reboot and so on. I immediately popped the battery and went in to clockwork mod recovery and tried to restore, but that didn't work (no image found). so I tried to flash it again hoping it would work second try but it didn't. that's when i started to get nervous and started wiping caches and trying to factory reset and going through my sdcard deleting the .zip i tried to flash and stuff i thought might be corrupted. when that didn't work i tried downloading cyanogen7 and flashing it, but it did the same thing - froze in boot animation and tried again, over and over. I've looked for recovery images to flash but all i can find are images for other things that i'm afraid to try because i think i've dicked it up enough. any information would be appreciated, maybe a recovery image for a DI or even just telling me i don't get it and need some clarification on protocol for this type of thing.

    thanks for your time, helping an amateur haha
     

    Advertisement

  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Not sure if you've tried this combo yet but go into cwm, wipe data, wipe cache partition, then wipe dalvik cach (in advanced menu). Then proceed to load a Rom...install zip from SD card, choose zip from SD card, and load it. That's pretty much how it reads in the clockwork menu. I have not heard of the red glass rom but that doesn't mean it doesn't exist. Just be damn sure you're loading a Rom made for the original incredible.
     
    Colchicine and mikot53 like this.
  3. ckali7

    ckali7 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    124
    8
    36
    I'm having the same problem when t try to flash a new kernel to Nilse Business 3.0
     
  4. mikot53

    mikot53 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    yeah i did try that but it was all kind of mixed up and it's worth a second try anyway. I'll try it again with a different rom too
     
  5. ckali7

    ckali7 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    124
    8
    36
    ok, found the fix, when flashing with ROM mgr. Don't clean or clear anything, just flash it. Got it going !
     
  6. mikot53

    mikot53 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    IT WORKED!!! Thank you so much. It really helps a lot more when someone can actually tell you directly instead of having to gather it all from different threads that dont apply as much to your phone. awesome. huge relief.
     
  7. danielzink

    danielzink Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    44
    0
    15
    Lansing, MI
    I've been getting the odd bootloop as well.

    Just every once in a while. For no good reason the phone will just start random rebooting.

    Rooted and running:

    Wildstang's: Stock 605.3 rooted ROM
    2.6.35.10-gingertiny-090111 (kernel)
    PB31IMG 07.07 radio
    Quick_Settings
    Remove_GPS_nag_inc_ota
    Remove_GPS_recticle
     

Share This Page

Loading...