1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Stuck in bootloop

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tgpoletti, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. tgpoletti

    tgpoletti Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    I think I'm in trouble.

    A while back my phone's home and search buttons broke, but since I had a rooted phone I just downloaded an app that lets me access virtual buttons on any screen.

    However, I decided to go through my insurance and get a new phone and wanted to sbf first.

    I think the sbf went fine, but now I'm stuck in boot loop. I've tried holding down power and home while turning it on about 20 times now, but to no avail.

    The only thing I can do is put my phone back in boot loader (not boot strapper)

    Anyone have any ideas? Worst case scenario I ship the boot looped phone to the insurance company and hope I don't get charged 175 dollars...hopefully it comes Monday too.
     

    Advertisement

  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    you are holding home before you turn power on, and holding it until that exclamation mark appears correct?

    you have removed the battery after the sbf and put it back in correct?

    once the battery is removed thats when you hold home+power, once the phone is on let go of power but continue to hold home, you are doing that?
     
  3. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    308
    26
    43
    Try holding the Camera button along with Home and Power when you boot up.
     
  4. tgpoletti

    tgpoletti Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    @VoidedSaint - Yes I have been doing all of the stuff, no droid exclamation point though. I've repeated the process several times and held down the buttons through a full loop. You have to understand - my home button is super busted.

    @dabomb224 - I tried that too. nada

    The only thing I can think of is to rerun the linux cd and hope it doesn't boot loop, but I am skeptical about how well that could work.
     
  5. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    ahhh if your buttons are busted, then you may be out of luck in all honesty.


    PM Sent
     
    tgpoletti likes this.
  6. tgpoletti

    tgpoletti Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    C'est la vie
     
  7. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    How did you bust your buttons?
     
  8. tgpoletti

    tgpoletti Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    @bouchigo - Just from dropping it too many times I I think.

    Honestly though: My DX has taken the most abuse out of any phone I've had and still worked pretty well despite it all. It's the best phone I ever bought and I'm happy to pay 100 for a brand new one. (I'm curious though, if they will replace it with the X2 or not. I know sometimes that happens when old models are replaced. Its win-win to me: better community support vs. better display and dual processor)

    I finally got my phone out of boot loop. Holy bloatware! I went to work for a few hours and came back and it worked on the second try. It was just a numbers game (the button works SOMETIMES).

    Thanks for all the support
     
  9. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    you should SBF using the .596 SBF and then to get into recovery use ADB to reboot recovery. With 596 you the volume buttons after booted into recovery
     
  10. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    i have never used adb it always gave me issues lol

    i need a noob guide for it :p
     
  11. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    ADB comes in handy sometimes.
     
  12. tgpoletti

    tgpoletti Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    I'll have to remember that if I ever break my home button again x.x

    Seriously though, you guys are superstars when it comes to Android and the DX.
     

Share This Page

Loading...