1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Stuck in S-OFF Help!!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by evorob, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. evorob

    evorob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    116
    20
    38
    Home inspector
    Miami
    Guys I need help!! My evo that was running on 2.3.3.I decided to unroot because I couldnt get the ota updates and I said to my self no biggie.let me unroot.I was using Z4root (no idea how it worked on2.3.3) WOW mistake.Now I cant get updates,no root,s-off cant get rom manager to work because it says I have no root.I installed pc36IMG.zip on sd card and installed on hboot,took fine even updated and rebooted but still in same position. now what ?????? Before doing all of that I even wiped my phone but nothing. help!!!!!!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    first off you should never accept an ota or even unroot and accept the ota. all you need to do is flash the stock rooted version that the devs push out. luckily if you accepted the ota you can still root your phone. most of the times the ota will usually will close the exploit used to gain root and then you will have to wait for a new exploit which could take awhile.

    second we need to know where you are at right now. what is your hboot? power off then press and hold power+vol down. also do you have s-on or s-off.
     
  3. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Theres NOTHING in an OTA thats worth unrooting to get.

    Wait a week and either 1) the developers will have it baked into their roms or 2) there will be a stock ROM with it updated you can flash.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  4. evorob

    evorob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    116
    20
    38
    Home inspector
    Miami
    Ok guys it says,supersonic evz-3 ,ship-off,microp 04if,radio
    2.15.00.11.19. Now I know that OTA isn't worth the hassle !!!!! Thanks for your help !!!!
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    so do you still have s-off or s-on?
     
    evorob likes this.
  6. evorob

    evorob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    116
    20
    38
    Home inspector
    Miami
    S off, but super user app says I'm not rooted nor WiFi tether.
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    so when you run the superuser app it says that you are not rooted? what is your hboot?
     
  8. evorob

    evorob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    116
    20
    38
    Home inspector
    Miami
    correct,I have no root. Hboot- 2-15.00.11.19. As you can tell i am new at this but very interested in learning.
     
  9. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I would just go ahead and rerun revolutionary...
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well you have s-off, so you are partly rooted. do you have a custom recovery? go into hboot and select recovery. do you get an exclamation point with a red triangle? if so then try and run revolutionary again. if that does not work we can try a ruu to get you all the way there.
     
  11. evorob

    evorob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    116
    20
    38
    Home inspector
    Miami
    ok,I want to do it right from the beginning.Maybe their is something im doing wrong.Can you please let me know the correct steps for revo. Because when i try to install any zip into recovery it will not let me. It says instalation aborted.
     
  12. evorob

    evorob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    116
    20
    38
    Home inspector
    Miami
    I hit recovery and it says clockworkmod recovery v2.6.0.1 and the rest in a teal color.
     
  13. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    If your trying to reflash revolutionary you need to run that from the computer and not the phone. From the phone you will flash the ROM

    Read the guide 2 times and follow it. Ocn did an excellent job discussing all the steps. This is you best shot
     
    evorob likes this.
  14. evorob

    evorob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    116
    20
    38
    Home inspector
    Miami
    I cant run revolutionary on my windows. ????
     
  15. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    can you explain?
     
  16. evorob

    evorob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    116
    20
    38
    Home inspector
    Miami
    sorry,dumb question! do i unzip ? Normally I have always downloaded and copied to sd card.This is new for me.
     
  17. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no worries in the guide it says that yo have to extract it to someplace on your desktop.
     
  18. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Take it step by step.. The program does the work for you.
     
  19. evorob

    evorob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    116
    20
    38
    Home inspector
    Miami
    Im trying to extract to desktop.Pain in the a*s.Should have paid more attention in computer class.
     
  20. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    just right click on the file and select extract.
     
  21. evorob

    evorob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    116
    20
    38
    Home inspector
    Miami
    ok done.Extracted.When I right click on the extracted file nothing says run.It says open.
     
  22. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    once the file is extracted, just double click it to run the program.
     
  23. evorob

    evorob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    116
    20
    38
    Home inspector
    Miami
    I did that and another window poped up with sub folders.
     
  24. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    oops sorry. yeah open up the folder and select revolutionary. and this is the one you double click. it will ask you to run it.
     
  25. evorob

    evorob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    116
    20
    38
    Home inspector
    Miami
    ok I was able to try to run it and computer gives me message, revolutionary.exe-unable to locate component. adbwinapi.dll was not found.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...